Recent Acquisitions

Last month, I read five printed books off my shelves and one eBook as well as listened to one audiobook I’ve had loaded onto my iPod for almost a year. Great progress towards my goal of reading the books I own.

So how did I celebrate? By going out and buying eleven more print books at a buy one, get one used book sale over the weekend! And I also bought into Persephone’s buy two, get one free marketing scheme for Valentine’s Day. Whoops.

FullSizeRender

The used book sale I visited divides their fiction selections into regular and “premium” books. The premium section includes prize winners, popular authors, and bestsellers so I was surprised to find Marlon James’ The Brief History of Seven Killings (winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize) and Eleanor Catton’s The Luminaries (winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize) in the regular section. For fifty cents a piece, of course those two were coming home with me. The only premium book I purchased was Robert Galbraith’s The Silkworm.

As for the rest, I tried to be mindful about purchasing more diverse books, either in the novel’s setting or in the ethnicity and/or nationality of the author. With that in mind, I brought home:

  • Running in the Family (Michael Ondaatje)
  • Moloka’i (Alan Brennert)
  • How to be Good (Nick Hornby)
  • Please Don’t Call Me Human (Wang Shud)
  • The Women (T.C. Boyle)
  • Palace of Desire (Naguib Mahfoua)
  • Soul Mountain (Gao Xingjian)
  • Abundance (Sena Jeter Naslund)

The Persephone books I ordered haven’t arrived from England yet, but I’m looking forward to seeing They Were Sisters by Dorothy Whipple, To Bed with Grand Music by Marghanita Laski, and Fidelity by Susan Glaspell in my mailbox soon.

6 thoughts on “Recent Acquisitions

    1. You can’t. Especially not when you happen to walk by and see the sign about buy one, get one. I remember checking Soul Mountain out of the library many years ago when I was trying to cross off that elusive X on some read the alphabet challenge, but I never read it. Excited to give it a try.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

