Top 10 Borrowed Books in 2015 from the Boston Public Library

unnamedThe Boston Public Library sent out a e-newsletter this week with the top 10 borrowed books in 2015 from their extensive catalog, and I think this might be the only “best of 2015” list out there containing titles I’ve actually read.

  1. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (read in 2015; unreviewed)
  2. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (read in 2015; unreviewed)
  3. The Boston Girl by Anita Diamant (read in 2015; reviewed)
  4. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (read in 2014; reviewed)
  5. Yes Please by Amy Poehler (read in 2015; reviewed)
  6. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (unread; own audiobook)
  7. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck by Jeff Kinney (unread; no plans to read)
  8. The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd (unread; own a copy)
  9. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (unread; own a copy)
  10. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (read in 2009; reviewed)

The only title I was surprised to see on the list given that it was published back in 2005 was Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief, but one of the women in my book club told me the book was assigned reading in the Boston public schools this year. Same goes for The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

The novels by Kidd, Hawkins, Doerr, and Tartt were all selected by my book club at various points this year since we tend to stick to bestsellers and more recent releases. I missed our meetings on Tartt and Kidd, but I look forward to reading both those books in 2016. Good thing I have my own copies now, though, as I’m sure the wait lists for these books will only increase now that they’ve been highlighted as popular reads in the e-newsletter.

Please feel free to share your thoughts

