Sunday Salon: Currently in November

IMG_1360 IMG_1646 IMG_1647

Hello! It’s been a while, I know. Mainly thanks to the fact that the past four months were one of the worst reading slumps of my life. The ten or so books I did pick up were largely mediocre – neither bad enough nor fantastic enough to encourage me to post at length about them – and a horrific cough zapped my energy the entire month of October. Lots of television watching; lots of sleeping fourteen to sixteen hours a night.

IMG_1407 IMG_1710 IMG_1030

Yet now that the weather is (kind of) turning colder and the sun is setting before I even get home from work, I’m drawn back into the world of books and book blogging. I posted a review of The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver this past Thursday – the first peep out of me in nearly four months – and I’ve slowly but surely been dusting off the cobwebs both here and on Twitter. Eventually, I’ll get back into the swing of things posting about the books I’ve read and interacting with the wonderful book blogging community.

IMG_0897 IMG_0965 IMG_0878

I have to say that the past four months haven’t been all bad. I landed a huge project at work that has kept me busy in the best way possible. My brother and I visited Iceland for four days back in September, and I fell in love with the country and its dramatic scenery. As much as I love them, Arnaldur Indriðason’s novels do not even begin to do the country justice. Honestly, I would move there (or, at least visit again) in a heartbeat.

IMG_0547 IMG_0477 IMG_0549

I also spent a long weekend in Montreal with my girlfriends back in August (after saying we would go for the past six years), and I was charmed by that city as well. I completed a 40 mile bike race/ride through Boston in September, and I joined a kickball league that was great fun while I was still well enough to play. So life in the past four months has been a mix of good and a mix of bad, and so it goes…

IMG_0862 IMG_0686 IMG_1071

Reading | I’ve only read about fifty pages, but I told my mom that she should be thankful I did not pick up Clea Koff’s memoir, The Bone Woman, before I found a field I love because I am absolutely fascinated by her experience as a forensic anthropologist  (like Brennan from “Bones”) working to prove genocide occurred in Rwanda and Bosnia. I’ve read so many witness accounts of these crimes against humanities yet never considered the role doctors and anthologists could play as witnesses long before historians begin the studies. And I can easily imagine teenaged me deciding that, yes, I must go to Stanford and follow Koff’s educational framework to be that kind of witness. (Anatomy class would have likely been a huge roadblock, though.)

Listening | After about eight months of on-and-off listening and a lot of rewinding, I finally finished the audiobook version of Diana Gabaldon’s Dragonfly in Amber, the second book in the Outlander series, earlier this month. Now, I’ve turned my attention back to the finishing my reread of the Harry Potter series with an audiobook version of the sixth book in the series, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince as read by Jim Dale.

Watching | I’m borderline obsessed with “Chicago P.D.”, particularly the characters of and relationship between Erin Lindsay and Jay Halstead, after starting the series back in May along with its sister show, “Chicago Fire”. I finally caught up with “Elementary”, and I’ve also been watching Masterpiece PBS’ “Home Fires” and “Indian Summers” on Sundays. Surprisingly, none of the new shows for this year – “Quantico”, “Blindspot”, “Wicked City”, etc. – have really captured my attention. More time to read, I guess.

Planning | I hate to make any firm plans as I come out a reading slump, but I really would like to get back to tackling my Classics Club list. I posted a recap of my first year in the club back in August and mentioned that I planned to finally tackle books by the Brontë sisters as I’ve been avoiding Anne, Charlotte, and Emily’s works for far too long. So I plan to follow through on that plan. Maybe.

Anticipating | Thanksgiving! After being so sick for the past month, I’m really looking forward to having a few days off to spend with my family and enjoy the warmer, drier climate of SoCal.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Currently in November

    1. It never crossed my mind until I started reading crime novels set there, and I was amazed at the number of people who would say their sibling or neighbor or friend went to Iceland after they found out I was going. I read somewhere that nearly a million people visited the country last year, which is staggering when you consider that about 300,000 people live there.

      Like

    1. I have! I was feeling rather down about how little I read, but listing out what I’ve done and pulling the pictures certainly reminded me of all the good reasons why I haven’t been reading.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

