The Classics Club: One Year Later

A year ago today, I decided to join The Classics Club and created a list of seventy-five classics I would like to read within a three year period. I said in my introductory post that I hoped to read twenty-five classics each year and, a year later, I’ve read sixteen books off of my original list plus an additional eight books that could also be considered classics.

All of my book reviews for those titles I’ve read for the club are available here in their own category. The additional eight books considered classics I’ve read and discussed are available in my “classics” tagSome of the highlights of the past year include:

In the next year of being in the Classics Club, I plan to tackle books by the Brontë sisters as I’ve been avoiding Anne, Charlotte, and Emily for years now as a bad experience with Wuthering Heights. It would be lovely if I could fall in love with them as much as I have with Edith Wharton!

6 thoughts on “The Classics Club: One Year Later

  1. Oh, my! Emily and Anne and Charlotte are so different! If you like Edith Wharton, you might start with Anne. My personal favorite by her is Agnes Grey, but I think The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is far more precisely written. I love Agnes Grey because she was so, so young and obviously learning to write as she went. Anne was sort of the quiet bit of feminist steel, while Charlotte was romantic and steely (Jane Eyre is SO SO SO good). Emily is a question mark for me — I still haven’t figured her out. She was a lot of thunder and sound, I think. (In her novel I mean. I’ve read that in life she was quiet.) 🙂

    Like

  2. Does this mean you haven’t read Jane Eyre yet?? It’s truly amazing. I’m not a huge lover of classics, but Jane Eyre is one of my absolute favorite books.

    Like

  3. While I’m a big fan of Wuthering Heights, I can attest that Jane Eyre is very very different and well loved for a reason. No need to be scared! 😉 I haven’t been reading as many classics lately, but I’m trying to get back into them. I just finished Sense and Sensibility and plan to tackle Dracula in October. I need to go evaluate my list!!

    Glad you’ve been enjoying the Classics Club!

    Like

  4. I’m fond of House of Mirth but I’ve never really warmed to The Age of Innocence. I loved Wuthering Height when I was very young but find it hard to read now I’m older. Maybe because those heightened passions relate more to the young?

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

