Recent Acquisitions

It’s my birthday and I’ll buy books if I want to! And, lucky for me, the public library’s used book sale coincided nicely with my birthday so I was able to spend the morning of perusing the tables of books and seeing what I could find that caught my fancy. For fifteen dollars, I came away with eleven books — three hardbacks and eight paperbacks — including three books selected by my book club for the upcoming months.

I was most surprised to find A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin considering the popularity of the series. I’ve already read the book and, admittedly, did not love it, but Martin swears he will finish the next one in the series by 2016 and the television show is going to start diverting from the books in the next series so I’d like to have a copy on hand to help me brush up on what happened.

I was also thrilled to find a copy of Sue Monk Kidd’s The Invention of Wings given the wait list at my library still numbers in the hundreds for the book. My book club selected Kidd’s novel this past December for our meeting, and I wasn’t able to get my hands on a copy before then. Other book club selections I was able to find at this sale include Portrait in Sepia by Isabel Allende, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford, and South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami.

The three books published by Persephone were birthday presents from my parents and all were written by Dorothy Whipple. I started Because of the Lockwoods on Saturday and am already entranced by Whipple’s writing once more.  (I’ve previously read her novel Someone at a Distance back in November.) I’m looking forward to tucking into The Priory and Whipple’s short story collection, The Closed Door and Other Stories, soon.

 

4 thoughts on “Recent Acquisitions

  1. Happy birthday 😀 I’m currently reading Dance with Dragons. I’m 1/3 of the way and feeling very underwhelmed. I also have The Priory on the TBR and The Invention of Wings in my audiobook wish-list, so let me know when you’re starting them!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Alex! I saw on GoodReads that you were reading Dance with Dragons so I’m curious to know your thoughts. The only other book blogger I’ve seen who has read the whole series ended up abandoning DwD. I finished, but it took me a long time. I’ll be starting The Invention of Wings soon. I’m waiting to see if I can get the audiobook copy from the library as I’ve heard rave reviews. Then I can switch from listening to reading as my schedule demands.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

