Wrap Up: TBR Double Dog Dare

tbr-dare-2014To get straight to the point, I failed the TBR Double Dog Dare. I managed to avoid bringing home any books from the library (with the exception of those I needed for book club) for about six weeks. Yet, in mid-February, an opinion piece in the local paper referenced David Kirby’s Death at SeaWorld, which I then had to read, and in March I came down with such an awful cough and cold that all I wanted to read were graphic novels and memoirs. So I broke the dare and went to the library. Whoops.

Of the thirty-one books I read between January 1 and March 31, ten books were print copies from my physical to-read pile (nearly all of which found new homes via PaperBackSwap upon completion), nine were audiobooks on my iPod loaded back in 2014, and seven were from the library for book club meetings. The rest were from the library for the excuses explained above.

So, yeah, I failed the dare. But looking at the glass half-full — ten books off my shelves and nine off my iPod is great progress in culling down Mt. TBR! In that regard, the TBR  Double Dog Dare was a success. Plus, I have two more print novels and an audiobook in progress that will also help to create more space on my shelves for all the books I’ll buy or receive for my upcoming birthday.

If I can continue with finishing roughly three books in print a month for the rest of the year, I’ll only have seven books in my physical TBR pile left at year’s end. And, if I can’t keep that momentum going, hopefully James Reads Books will choose to host the dare again in 2016.

2 thoughts on “Wrap Up: TBR Double Dog Dare

  1. Hey, you tried! and did make some progress. I had a bit of a slip-up, forgot I was actually doing the Dare and read one of my kid’s chapter books…

    Like

    1. Exactly! Trying to look at it in a positive light. I think I wouldn’t have slipped up so much if I hadn’t been sick, but I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who slipped.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

