Recent Acquisitions + The TBR Double Dog Dare

20141206_Books

I would have missed this month’s used book sale at the public library yesterday if my phone had not chirped loudly enough with a reminder fifteen minutes before the doors opened. Since I cannot resist a book sale and the library is (sort of) on my way to the grocery store, I slipped on my shoes and headed over to browse the shelves.

Less than an hour later, I left the library with six books for a dollar a piece and a bag filled with what was supposed to be groceries. Food for the mind and soul, I say. Add these six to the three books plus a cookbook my mom brought me at Thanksgiving and my recent acquisitions include:

  • Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook
  • The Blind Assassin (Margaret Atwood)
  • Catherine the Great (Robert K. Massie)
  • The Cold Song (Linn Ullmann)
  • Exploring Boston and New England (Fodor’s)
  • Mary Boleyn (Alison Weir)
  • Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)
  • Prague (Arthur Phillips)
  • The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)
  • The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle (Haruki Murakami)

tbr-dare-2014I had to do some rearrange of my shelves to find a space for each book in their new home hence why I will be signing up for the TBR Double Dog Dare hosted by James Reads Books. The TBR Double Dog Dare is not a challenge but a dare to read only those books from your TBR pile between January 1 and April 1. And everyone on the playground knows you cannot refuse a double dog dare.

You can still buy books so, lucky me, I won’t have to skip the library book sale in February. You just can’t read new purchases until the TBR Double Dog Dare is over.

My two exceptions are those books chosen by my book club during the TBR Double Dog Dare and audiobooks I’ve borrowed from the library. I am restricting myself to those audiobooks I had loaded onto my iPod before the TBR Double Dog Dare begins on January 1, but I cannot ban them outright otherwise I’ll have nothing to listen to at work.

I’m looking forward to finally reading those books on my TBR shelf. After all, there’s a reason I purchased them in the first place. And I’m sure the public library is looking forward to me returning the forty or so books I have checked out at the end of the month.

Please feel free to share your thoughts

