Sunday Salon: Currently in November

photo 2Participating | As I mentioned earlier this month, I’m participating in Nonfiction November hosted by Kim of Sophisticated Dorkiness, Leslie of Regular Rumination, Katie of Doing Dewey, and Rebecca of I’m Lost In Books. So far, I’ve been the expert on food politics, become the expert on Japanese internment during World War II, and reviewed three titles so far – I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou, The Child Catchers by Kathryn Joyce, and As Texas Goes by Gail Collins. Next week, I’ll be sharing my thoughts on three other nonfiction titles (thank you, audiobooks) and participating in the read-a-long of Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff.

Contemplating | I’ve been toying with the idea of hosting a read-a-long or two (or three) in the coming year for some of the longer books on my shelf — Shantram by Gregory David Roberts, The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer, Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray, 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami, War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. I’ve really enjoyed the read-a-longs and buddy reads (myself and one other person) I’ve participated in the past, but I’m not sure how much interest there is or if people find there is a glut of read-a-longs to choose from. Any interest?

Reading | I decided to take a break from nonfiction the other day and last night I reach the halfway point in Arctic Chill by Arnaldur Indriðason. This is the third novel in Indriðason’s series that I’ve read – the seventh in the series, overall – and I’m really enjoying the insight into Icelandic immigration policy the book is providing. Only eight of Indriðason’s crime novels have been translated into English so I’m trying to pace myself and not blow through them all in one sitting. Once I finish this novel, I plan to dive right back into nonfiction.

Listening | One of my favorite actors, Leighton Meester, dropped her first album at the end of October so I’ve been listening to “Heartstrings” on repeat since it was released. Only the titular song is available on YouTube, which is a shame because the rest of the album is far superior. I’ve also been listening to the audiobook version of The Witches by Roald Dahl as read by Ron Keith while cooking and exercising this weekend.

Planning | Number thirteen was selected for the Classics Club spin so I’ll be reading Roots by Alex Haley in December and sharing my thoughts on January 5. I’m looking forward to reading the book as I’ve seen the mini-series more than a few times.

Watching | I’m on season three of “Gilmore Girls”. I’ve seen the show before, but I started watching around season five so it is nice to finally have the backstory to why Rory and Lorelai stopped talking. I have notice, though, that this show is difficult to binge. Lorelai talks so quickly that she tires me out after an episode or two!

Cooking | I haven’t been sharing cookbook reviews lately because I’ve been making my way through these crockpot recipes over at Family Fresh Meals. I love the Cool Ranch Chicken tacos; I’ve made two batches so far. I’ve also made the Cheesy Chicken and Rice and the Thai Peanut Chicken, which I would recommend letting sit overnight in order to get maximum flavor. Today, I am making her recipe for Lasagna Soup as well as the Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese from MyFitnessPal.

Anticipating | My parents arrive for Thanksgiving a week from tomorrow and I’m looking forward to showing off my new city to them, especially my mom as she hasn’t seen me since I moved. I’ve lined up museum passes from the public library during their visit and I’ve solicited a couple of restaurant recommendations from my coworkers. For Thanksgiving, though, we’ll be eating at home because nothing beats my dad’s turkey and my mom’s mashed potatoes.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

Photograph © Ardent Reader. Taken: November 1, 2014.
8 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Currently in November

  1. I’ve had 1Q84 on my shelf for way to long so if you decide to do a read along I might have to join.

    I’ve heard a few people say it’s hard to binge watch Gilmore Girls. That was never a problem for me and now I’m wondering if it’s because I’ve always talked a lot and really fast. I have that in common with Lorelai.

    Like

    1. I always thought I was a fast talker, but Lorelai has me beat by a mile!

      I’m leaning towards 1Q84 as the first book. I too have had it on my self for far too long and I kept putting it off because I hadn’t read 1984 yet. That’s no longer an obstacle so I really have no excuses.

      Like

  2. I have almost the exact opposite history with Gilmore Girls. I watched the first four or so seasons, then drifted off after some of the stuff in seasons five and six. I started rewatching, but got distracted with current tv. I’m thinking I’ll jump back in during the holiday hiatus.

    Like

    1. I have a history of starting shows right at the beginning of their slide downward and I’ve been told “Gilmore Girls” is no exception. But I find my interest waning now that I’ve hit season four so I’m not sure I’ll be getting to the parts I’ve seen before any time soon.

      Like

  3. I have both The Invisible Bridge and Vanit Fair on my shelves, so will join for those if you plan to host. I dnon’t even remember buying the Orringer, I think she was nominated for the Orange prize a few years ago?

    Like

    1. Yes, she was nominated for The Invisible Bridge, which explains why the title sounded so familiar to me when I saw it at the shop. Glad to hear you’d be in for those two. I’m trying to pull together a plan spreading the novels out over a few months.

      Like

  4. 1Q84 is great for a read along. So much to discuss. I’d be up for Vanity Fair if you end up doing that one. I think I have a copy that I bought 5 years ago!

    Like

    1. Oh, that’s great to hear. I thought it might make for a good discussion. Dystopian novels usually do. I’ve had a copy of Vanity Fair for at least five years so I need to get it off the shelf.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

