The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Convinced their grandfather hates them, the Alden children run away following the death of their parents so they cannot be forced to live with their grandfather and stumble across an abandoned boxcar. The children work hard to set up the boxcar as their new home with Jessie and Violet keeping house and a watchful eye on their little brother, Benny, and Watch the watchdog while older brother, Henry, performs odd jobs for the doctor in the next town over.

I was recently reminded by Warner’s series, although I cannot recall exactly how or why now. The Boxcar Children, the first book in the series, was one of those novels that sparked my imagination as a child. I turned my bedroom into a boxcar casting my dog as Watch and gathering provisions in a box in my room. Milk in a water bottle packed amongst ice pack still spoils, if you were wondering.

Having now reread the first book in the series, I’m amazed at how clearly I remember every event and detail — the visit to the dump where Benny finds his pink cup, the mean woman at the bakery, the foot race, and the ending, of course. I’m not sure I could say the same of other childhood favorites, and I enjoyed my returned to the boxcar. Almost makes me want to revisit more in the series (my public library has three shelves full!), although I cannot recall if I ever read more than the first book in the series so it may not be a return by rather an introduction.

Book Mentioned:

  • Warner, Gertrude Chandler. The Boxcar Children. Park Ridge, IL: Albert Whitman & Company, 1989. Originally published 1942. Print. 154 pgs. ISBN: 9780807508527. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Albert Whitman & Company. Retrieved: August 19, 2014.
2 thoughts on “The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Please feel free to share your thoughts

