Bossypants by Tina Fey

I will preface my remarks on Fey’s memoir by stating that I do not find “30 Rock” funny and the few times I’ve watched “Saturday Night Live” were when Fey impersonated Sarah Palin, the holiday special, and the few songs by The Lonely Island that are spammed all over my Facebook feed. It’s not that I don’t enjoy sketch comedy or improv; I just don’t seem to find that either of these shows jive with my particular brand of humor.

So why read Fey’s memoir? Well, I enjoyed her impersonation of Sarah Palin and her movie “Mean Girls” is a cult icon from my childhood. It’s so fetch. Also, my roommate has a copy of the book and I was looking for something funny and light to read after a long week.

The book is a hodgepodge of recollections — a chapter devoted to her father, a love letter to Amy Poehler, and a quasi-concluding chapter on whether or not she should have a second child. Not entirely what I was expecting yet not entirely disappointing. Fey’s memoir is a refreshing insight into a woman accredited with shattering the glass ceiling for women in comedy. Moments of self-adoration and success stand alongside moments of self-deprivation and failure, and the book reminds you over and over again that, yes, Fey has been on the cover of magazines and on television but she went through those same moments that make us all cringe in recollection.

No deep belly laughs; no moments where I had to wipe tears from my eyes in laughter. Some of the stories, particularly the Sarah Palin skits, felt like they were included for obligatory reasons, and I felt like the “30 Rock” stories dragged on and on (possibly because, again, I don’t find “30 Rock” funny). But I can see how her childhood and awkward adolescence helped her in writing “Mean Girls” and, despite the age gap, the parallels in our lives in that regards were a nice reminder that good girls finish first.

Book Mentioned:

  • Fey, Tina. Bossypants. New York: Reagan Arthur, 2012. Originally published 2011. Print. 275 pgs. ISBN: 9780316056878. Source: Borrowed from a friend.
Book Cover © Reagan Arthur. Retrieved: June 29, 2013.
2 thoughts on “Bossypants by Tina Fey

  1. I’m not a huge 30 Rock fan or SNL fan either, but I do enjoy Tina Fey in a general sense. Bossypants really worked for me on audio. I enjoyed listening to Tina Fey narrate her story as she heard it in her own head. Probably made everything a bit more humorous.

    Like

    1. When I finished writing my review, I went on GoodReads and read several there. The overwhelming consensus seems to be the conclusion that you reached — the audiobook is much more humorous and enjoyable than the book. Unfortunately, I didn’t know that going in.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

