Read-a-Thon Updates (October 2012)

I posted about my bookstack and pre-read-a-thon thoughts yesterday. Today, I’ll be continuing my strategy of updating a single post throughout the day.  Scroll down for updates!

Updates:

Hour 2 (9:00 am EST): I missed only the first hour of the read-a-thon, which is surprising considering I was up until 1 am last night. I guess I was just too excited for today! I’ve answered the Introductory Questionnaire, which you can find below, and am now working on Bob Woodward’s The Price of Politics.

Hour 4 (11:00 am EST): I’ve had breakfast, talked to my dad, and read another 50 pages of Woodward’s book. So far, it’s a fascinating read. I’ve been really surprised at how much one of the two senators from Montana (my home state) has been featured in the book, particularly since I thought it would be just a showdown between Obama and the Republicans in Congress.

Hour 6 (1:00 pm EST): I’m a little over the halfway point with Woodward’s book! Now’s the time, though, when I start wishing I was reading a shorter read so I could have a completed book under my belt. Congrats to those who have finished their first read, but you’re making me jealous! I shouldn’t feel too bad for myself; Woodward’s book is still quite interesting! I’ll be taking a break to go and see actor Zach Braff stump for Elizabeth Warren on campus for the next couple of hours. See you later!

Hour 8 (3:00 pm EST): I gave up on Zach Braff after waiting nearly an hour and returned to my room to continue with the read-a-thon. I’m still working on Woodward’s book, but just crossed the two-thirds mark so I might finish this one before dinner time. If I can stay off the internet, that is.

Hour 10 (5:00 pm EST): I finished a book! It took me less than twenty minutes after my last update to finish Woodward’s book. I should have realized the last 30% would be filled with citations, but eBooks can be very deceiving. I switched over to my audiobook, Every Man Dies Alone, while I worked on some homework. In the last hour and a half or so, I read 63 pages and reached the end chapter 30 so now I’m two chapters away from finishing Part Two of this chunkster. I’m taking a break to eat dinner now, but am planning on finishing part two before moving on to another book.

Hour 12 (7:00 pm EST): I’ve eaten dinner, printed out my homework, and finished Part Two of Every Man Dies Alone. How it takes 44 minutes to read 22 pages I will never understand, but I’m putting this book back on the shelf for now. I’d hate to read Part Three and then not be able to separate them in my next post on Fallada’s novel. I think I’ll pick up Alexander Solzhenitsyn’s One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich next.

Hour 14 (9:05 pm EST): I finished another book! And I flubbed my update time so I could read the last twenty-three pages of Solzhenitsyn’s novel before updating you all. Oh, well. I was surprised at how well I enjoyed Solzhenitsyn’s book. To be quite honest, I thought a Russian novel would do me in! I’ve also filled out the Mid-Event Survey so check out my answers below. Not sure what I’ll be reading next. I’m debating between Rasputian’s Daughter by Robert Alexander, which has been on my TBR list forever, or the thriller Toxin by Robin Cook.

Hour 15 (10:30 pm EST): I decided to go with Alexander’s novel and flew through a good chunk of the book in the last hour and a half. However, I’m fighting to stay awake and with the knowledge that I have a lot of studying to do tomorrow, I’m calling it a night. My book and I are headed off to bed. Happy reading to everyone who is continuing on!

Hour 22 (6:35 am EST): I woke up a little early today completely by accident and have decided to lay in bed and read more of Alexander’s novel. I’m hoping to finish it before the end of the read-a-thon in an hour and a half!

Hour 24 (8:00 am EST): I finished another book! Just in time for the end of the ‘thon too. I had such a good time this year, finishing three books and getting caught up on Every Man Dies Alone. I’ve filled out the End of Event Meme below so do check out my answers. Looking forward to the next read-a-thon in April!

Where I stand overall:

  • A Beirut Heart (Cathy Sultan) — 0/253 pages
  • Every Man Dies Alone (Hans Fallada) — 277/509 pages (Finished Part Two!)
  • One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich (Alexander Solzhenitsyn) – Finished!
  • The Price of Politics (Bob Woodward) — Finished!
  • Rasputin’s Daughter (Robert Alexander) — Finished!
  • Toxin (Robin Cook) – 0/293 pages

Mini-challenges/Memes:

Introductory Questionnaire

  1. What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Central Massachusetts!
  2. Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Price of Politics by Bob Woodward!
  3. Which snack are you most looking forward to? Ham and cheese omelet. Yummy!
  4. Tell us a little something about yourself! I’m in my last year of undergraduate education, which is absolutely terrifying.
  5. If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? I’m going to be more willing to put books down and trying something else if they’re not working for me. I refuse to slog through this year. Oh, I also won’t be forced to stay up till 2 am for my job so my chances of staying up late have diminished greatly.

I answered the “Oldies but Goodies” mini-challenge hosted by Allie of A Literary Odyssey during Hour 5. Go check out my answer!

Mid-Event Survey

  1. How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired? I am getting sleepy. Not sure how much longer I will participate, but I know as soon as I take out my contacts and switch to glasses my body will decide that we’re going to bed. It’s oddly trained like that.
  2. What have you finished reading? I’ve finished The Price of Politics by Bob Woodward and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Alexander Solzhenitsyn. I also finished Part Two of Every Man Dies Alone by Hans Fallada, my stopping point for the novel.
  3. What is your favorite read so far? I really liked Woodward and Solzhenitsyn’s books, but I’d have to say The Price of Politics. I found it fascinating and must remember to make my dad read it so my favorite politico and I can discuss.
  4. What about your favorite snacks? I try to avoid snacking during the read-a-thon, but I did enjoy the clementine and lemonade I had a little while ago. My omelet this morning was also delicious.
  5. Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? I’ve been concentrating on reading rather than cheering this time around so no new blogs.

End of Event Meme

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 15. I called it a night halfway through.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? If you like politics, I’d suggest The Price of Politics by Bob Woodward. One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Alexander Solzhenitsyn and Rasputin’s Daughter by Robert Alexander were also very engaging.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope, I thought it went well this year.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Twitter seemed to be where everyone was. I almost started to think updating here was unnecessary.
  5. How many books did you read? I read three and a quarter books.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Bob Woodward’s The Price of Politics, One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Alexander Solzhenitsyn, Rasputin’s Daughter by Robert Alexander, and Every Man Dies Alone by Hans Fallada (Part Two).
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? I’m still going to have to go with Woodward’s book.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Fallada’s novel. I just can’t make myself get into.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I was not a cheerleader this year.
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? So likely! I’m probably going to stick with being a reader. I missed cheering, but I really needed this time to focus on me and my books.
24 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon Updates (October 2012)

  1. Go, Christina! 🙂 I had no idea that your last year is terrifying. My heart is pumping widely over that. 🙂 I’m looking forward to your “quick” thoughts on the Woodward book.

    Like

    1. I’m most terrified because I’m looking at either staying here for my master’s or graduating and finding a job. I won’t know about the former until much later in the year, and I hate waiting in limbo!

      Like

    1. I don’t think my studying was nearly as effective as I would have liked, but I just couldn’t let the read-a-thon pass me by! Thanks for cheering me on, Claire, and it’s nice to “see” you around!

      Like

  2. Twitter was where everyone’s at, but I’m glad you and others still posted, because I love going through the blogs after the readathon and seeing how everyone did 🙂

    Like

  3. I know what you mean about twitter. Every year it seems like it travels more and more in that direction…which is great if you’re on twitter but not so much if you’re not. I’m honestly not even sure I had any cheerleaders come by–mostly regular readers commenting on the vlog.

    Three and a quarter books is fantastic!! Looking forward to April. 🙂

    Like

    1. I wasn’t on Twitter my first read-a-thon and didn’t feel so left out since not everyone was on there. Last April, I kept my tweets on private and felt completely left out. Went off private this time around, which I felt was much better. I totally respect why people don’t want to be on Twitter (it can be such a time suck!), but I think they miss out on a lot of the cheering. Most of the cheerleaders didn’t stop by here until after I went to bed so I mostly had regular readers, too. Thanks for stopping by, Trish!

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

