The Cartoon Introduction to Economics by Grady Klein and Yoram Bauman (Volume One)

I spotted this book back in July when I was still living in Seattle and had run out of reading materials. I was tempted to buy it but settled on a different book and noted the title down for future reference. It wasn’t until I was at the local public library on Saturday that I spotted the book and remembered my prior interest.

Klein and Bauman introduce readers to the field of economics in this series, tackling my favorite subfield — microeconomics — in this volume. Many of the topics covered in this book are ones that I have been introduced and reintroduced to over and over again in my economics classes, and I don’t think my professors have ever been as entertaining as Klein and Bauman try to be in this book. It’s a nice, straightforward refresher course as I tackle some of these topics in my honors thesis.

If I hadn’t borrowed this book from the local public library I would pass it along to a friend who inadvertently signed up for an economics course. I think she could learn a good foundation of microeconomic theory to assist her in this course. Unfortunately, it’s due back at the library tomorrow and someone else has already reserved it. Too bad.

Book Mentioned:

  • Klein, Grady and Yoram Bauman. The Cartoon Introduction to Economics: Volume One: Microeconomics. New York: Hill and Wang, 2012. Print. 212 pgs. ISBN: 9780809094813. Source: Library.

The Honors Project:

I read this book for The Honors Project, my own personal challenge to read more books about economics, food, and/or geography in preparation for writing my honors thesis. My goal for this project is to learn as much as I can about these topics so I can formulate better questions and, in turn, produce a better honors thesis. You can find out more information by checking out my introductory post, project post, or spreadsheet of titles.

Book Cover © Hill and Wang. Retrieved: September 23, 2012.
Please feel free to share your thoughts

