‘B’ is for Burglar by Sue Grafton

This book is the second in Grafton’s alphabet mystery series staring Kinsey Millhone. Kinsey wants to turn down the case brought to her by a wealthy woman who needs to find her sister to settle a will. However, business is slow and even a private investigator has bills to pay, so Kinsey takes the case. What was supposed to be routine eventually spirals into case where the client tries to call Kinsey off, an accusing husband surfaces and a double murder surfaces.

I decided to give this series a second chance after a lukewarm experience with the first book in the series largely because a close friend loves them so much. Unfortunately, Grafton’s mysteries are just not my cup of tea. I found it difficult to keep track of the storyline and numerous characters, which is normally not a problem for me. The dialog felt very contrite; the culprit was very obvious. I’m calling it quit with this series.

(Note: The cover shown at right is of a newer edition published by St. Martin’s Press in 2005. My copy is apparently out of print.)

Book Mentioned:

  • Grafton, Sue. B is for Burglar. Toronto: Bantam Books, 1988. Originally published 1985. Print. 211 pgs. ISBN: 0553260618. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © St. Martin’s Press. Retrieved: March 28, 2012.
2 thoughts on “‘B’ is for Burglar by Sue Grafton

  1. I had the same experience when I read the first one; I, too, tried to like it because a friend recommended the series, but I just couldn’t get into them. I was not a fan of the dialogue since it seemed pretty contrived, and yes, there were just too many characters!

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

