The 9/11 Report by Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colón

My Middle East politics professor recommend those of us interested in US/Middle East relations read the Final Report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States (published as The 9/11 Commission Report). At over 500 pages I am not likely to pick it up anytime soon. I was intrigued, however, to find that Jacobson and Colón, who wrote the graphic biography of Anne Frank, adapted the report into a graphic book.

The complaints I had about the Anne Frank graphic biography were further heightened in this graphic report. Some of the dialog straddled more than one panel, interrupting the flow of the book and leaving me confused as to what to read next. Mostly, though, I was annoyed with the incredibly small font in many of the dialog bubbles and panels. I know my eyesight is poor but I shouldn’t have to squint to read a book while wearing corrective lenses.

In a graphic book, the graphics should tell the story. But in this book, the narrative heavily relies upon words to explain what it is happening. The chain of events between 7 and 10 am on Tuesday, September 11, 2011 are illustrated from beginning to end three times, which made the book incredibly redundant. I certainly learned some things from the graphic novel but I think I might have to muster up the patience to read the actual report.

Books Mentioned:

  • Jacobson, Sid and Ernie Colón. The 9/11 Report: A Graphic Adaptation. New York: Hill and Wang, 2006. Print. 133 pgs. ISBN: 9780809057399. Source: Library.
  • Jacobson, Sid and Ernie Colón. Anne Frank: The Anne Frank House Authorized Graphic Biography. New York: Hill and Wang, 2010. Print. 160 pgs. ISBN: 9780809026845. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Hill and Wang. Retrieved: January 3, 2012.
Please feel free to share your thoughts

