Sunday Salon: Read-a-Thon Wrap-Up

I think it would be fair to say that I had way more distractions this read-a-thon as compared to my last. I thought being the Resident Adviser (RA) on duty would help facilitate staying up late. Instead, being on duty both Friday and Saturday night until 2 am left me exhausted and I was often times called away to let someone in their room, answer a question, and investigate loud noises and strange smells. By the time Hour 18 (1:00 am for me) rolled around, I could barely concentrate on my books and I gave up at the end of the hour as soon as I signed off duty. Next year I won’t pick the read-a-thon weekend to be on duty.

I read 430 pages and finished one book, both of which are a much smaller numbers than last time. But I did read the one review copy I needed read, Wherever You Goby Joan Leegant, and make some headway into two other books on my TBR pile by reading 79 pages of Between the Assassinations by Aravind Adiga and 70 pages of Darcy’s Passions by Regina Jeffers. (I switched between the two books in hopes that familiar characters would keep my attention better.) I definitely will be continuing with both books just as soon as I find time.

As for time tables, I spent three and a half hours cheering and doing miscellaneous blog/twitter stuff and seven hours reading. Again, smaller than last time, but I also didn’t isolate myself from the world. I talked to my dad on the phone for an hour and Skyped with both my parents for an hour later that evening. I also ate meals with people this year, and we can’t forget that I also took the first four hours of the read-a-thon off to recuperate from my late night beforehand.

All in all, I am very happy with my progress! I cheered on 76 blogs (go #cheertrix!) and utilized Twitter to feel more connected to the community. And, most importantly, I had a great time!

It’s a tradition to end the ‘thon with an ending survey. I’ve answered the questions below as well as provided a better breakdown of all that I did accomplish. For more information, I urge you to check out my master post of updates.

One last thing! Thank you again to all the organizers for putting on such a fantastic event! Particular thanks to Erin and Trish for being such great co-captains of the Cheerios! I think I actually had more fun cheering this time than reading.

Summary:

  • I read 430 pages and finished 1 book (Wherever You Goby Joan Leegant).
  • I read for 7 hours.
  • I cheered for 76 blogs for a total of 3 hour and 27 minutes.
  • I won 2 prizes.
  • I used one million (estimation) exclamation points! Er, make that one million and one.
  • I completed 2 memes and 0 minichallenges.

End of Event Survey:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 18! At 1:00 am, I just wanted to go to bed! I was on duty for another hour, though, so I had to wait.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I actually have no idea. I enjoyed all four of the books I started to read even if I finished only one. Maybe something spooky or mysterious to keep your attention and get you in the mood for Halloween.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Not a one! Everything ran smoothly on my end as far as the read-a-thon went.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The cheerleading assignments! I knew exactly who I was supposed to cheer for and could do it on my own schedule (i.e. I didn’t have a time I was supposed to be cheering). The master list of readers can be very daunting unless its broken down.
  5. How many books did you read? I read four books and finished one.
  6. What were the names of the books you read?
    • Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy)
    • Between the Assassinations (Aravind Adiga)
    • Darcy’s Passions (Regina Jeffers)
    • Wherever You Go (Joan Leegant)
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? I liked them all even if I didn’t finish them all.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Not applicable. I made good choices in my selections this time around even if I was overly ambitious about reading Anna Karenina.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? It’s important to break up the block of readers you’re given and cheer for them throughout the night so there isn’t a mad rush of encouragement and then crickets for the rest of the read-a-thon. But it’s also important to keep in mind that most people aren’t going to stay up for the whole night. By the time I got around to cheering for the Ss, many of them had already called it a night.
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Of course I will! I will stick with being both a reader and a cheerleader. I will not be the RA on duty.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

16 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Read-a-Thon Wrap-Up

  1. You had a busy read-a-thon! I agree with you on the cheerleading. It was nice to know who I was suppose to cheer for and the time wasn’t set. I hope you enjoy the rest of your day.

    Like

    1. I’ve spent most of doing homework so I wouldn’t say it was enjoyable. But I’m glad I’m still getting things accomplished even if I don’t feel completely 100 percent.

      Like

  2. It sounds like you had a good balance of readathon activities. Thanks for being a cheerleader! I use excessive exclamation points too. I’ve already deleted a couple in this comment,lol! Anna Karenina is one of my favorites.

    Like

  3. Thanks for stopping by to cheer me on during the read-a-thon. Cheerleaders are the best! I had a great day, met lots of fun people and read a couple good books. Hope you enjoyed your day also.

    Like

  4. I agree with you about the cheerleading assignments — they were so helpful. I ended up doing most of my list before hour 10 or so, and maybe should have done it later, but having a smaller list really helped me feel like I was doing my “job” — glad you had a great readathon!

    Like

  5. Those distractions are killer! It’s not just the time spent away from the book but the time it takes to really get back into it. I always figure that any reading I got done is probably more than I might otherwise of done on a weekend day and it’s fun to interact with the other readathoners!

    Like

    1. Good point. And there was a couple of times that I would just start to get back into the book and then be interrupted yet again. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump lately so I’m thrilled with my progress for that reason alone.

      Like

  6. I also think I enjoyed cheering more than reading this time. And even with the RA distractions I’d say you got a very respectable amount of reading and cheering done. Hope you’re having a nice read-a-thon recovery day today!

    Like

  7. Glad you had fun, Christina!! I wasn’t a cheerleader, but it really seemed like it went well this year. You make an excellent point about not waiting until the end of the event to cheer people on, since so many only read for part of the event. Anyway, cheers, Christina! 🙂

    Like

  8. I would have thought being on RA duty would have been conducive to read-a-thon too. I’m still impressed. You really did accomplish a lot! Thanks for the cheers too 🙂

    Like

    1. It probably would have been more conducive if I hadn’t been on duty the night before. Staying up until 2 am the night before was not a good idea. On the other hand, I wouldn’t have stayed up until 2 am if I hadn’t been the RA on duty.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

