Read-a-Thon Updates (October 2011)

For the last Read-a-Thon, I posted an update every two hours or so to keep people abreast of my progress. This year, I’m borrowing a couple of people’s strategy and going with one post. Less formatting work for me and less posts clustering up your feed reader/inbox. Scroll down for updates!

Updates:

Hour 1 (8:00 am EST): Good morning Read-a-Thon-ers! Although most of you probably went to bed early last night in anticipation of the Read-a-Thon, I was on duty until 2 am this morning for my resident adviser job. I’m exhausted! I dragged myself out of bed long enough to post this update and plan to go back to bed for a little while longer. At least until the dining hall opens in two and a half hours. Then I will start reading (and cheering!). Best of luck to you all for these first couple of hours!

Hour 5 (12:00 pm EST): I’m finally up! I was planning on starting at 11 am but I got distracted talking on the phone with my dad so I’m just now settling down to read my first book, Wherever You Go by Joan Leegant. I just answered the Introduction Meme so check out my answers below. I also relocated from my room to a very comfy coach in the academic commons of the library. Have no fear of me falling asleep, though. The coffee shop in the commons is sure to jolt me away even if I do start to drift off.

Hour 7 (2:00 pm EST): I’ve read 145 pages of Wherever You Go by Joan Leegant. So far I like the book although I am having trouble keeping all the names straight. I don’t know if its because they are unfamiliar to me (Hebrew names) or because I was up until 2 am. Probably more the later than the former. I’m currently eating lunch and plan to spend this hour and some off the next eating and cheering. Go #cheertrix!

Hour 9 (4:00 pm EST): I finished my first book! Yay! I also did quite a bit of cheering, and I relocated back to my dorm room as people-watching was getting in the way of my reading. Only problem with this is being back in my bed is making me sleepy. I might need to make some tea and sit at my desk until dinner time. I’ve selected Between the Assassinations by Arvaind Adiga as my next read. It’s one of the longer ones on my shelf but the bright yellow cover keeps jolting me awake.

Hour 11 (6:00 pm EST): The exciting news is that I won a prize! I selected The Queen’s Rival by Diane Haeger. Unfortunately, I didn’t make much progress on Between the Assassinations by Arvaind Adiga these past two hours. I was distracted with picking out my prize for one thing. One of my residents locked himself out of his room and I ended up chatting with another so I was preoccupied with RA responsibilities for a while. I also spent part of the last two hours cheering and made it through U and Z. (Go #cheertrix!) I already made my way through the Rs so I’ll be tackling the Ss and Ts later this evening. Just a reminder: Don’t forget to post what titles you’ve finished during the read-a-thon! There’s a simple form on the left-hand sidebar of the main read-a-thon site.

Hour 14 (9:00 pm EST): My quick trip to get dinner at the dining hall actually morphed into that plus a trip to talk with two of my residents. They would all pick today of all days to “need” me the most. Oh, well. As for the read-a-thon, I cheered on all the Ts and plan to move onto the Ss a little later. I’d like to tackle last week’s sections of Anna Karenina that I missed and possibly get a head start on this week’s sections. I just answered the mid-event survey so please check out my answers below.

Hour 17 (12:00 am EST): Honestly, if I wasn’t on duty (yes, again!) for another two hours, I would send myself off to bed. I’m getting really sleepy. Time to set aside the tea and drink some soda. I spent most of this block talking to my parents and doing very little reading. Anna Karenina isn’t working for me. I don’t know why I thought it would but I read 27 pages before setting it aside. I’m just too tired to concentrate that hard. Now I can’t decided if I’m going to go back to Between the Assassinations or move on to Darcy’s Passions by Regina Jeffers. Decisions, decisions.

Hour 19 (2:00 am EST): I just signed off of duty and I’m calling it a night. Thanks to the organizers who planned this and the cheerleaders for stopping by to leave such nice comments! I’ll be back tomorrow to recap everything I accomplished during the read-a-thon. Go luck to those of you continuing on!

Where I stand overall:

  • Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy) – 147/1361 pages
  • Between the Assassinations (Aravind Adiga) – 79/368 pages
  • Darcy’s Passions (Regina Jeffers) — 70/312 pages
  • Wherever You Go (Joan Leegant) – Finished!

Mini-challenges/Memes:

Introduction Meme:

  1. Where are you reading from today? Central Massachusetts!
  2. Three random facts about me…I’m majoring in economics and geography in college, I cannot stand the taste of coffee, and I also enjoy writing short stories.
  3. How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? I originally had ten in my stack but I only brought four with me to the library. I feel like that’s much more reasonable.
  4. Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)? I would at least like to finish one book and get caught up in my Anna Karenina read-along.
  5. If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time? Please, for the love of books, turn off word verification. It makes like much harder for cheerleaders to cheer. Take breaks. Walk around for a while. Your eyes will get tired so go do something that doesn’t involve looking at a book, computer screen, eReader screen, or TV screen.

Mid-Event Survey:

  1. What are you reading right now? Aravind Adiga’s Between the Assassinations. I haven’t gotten very far but I like what I’ve read.
  2. How many books have you read so far? One — Wherever You Go (Joan Leegant)
  3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Should I get too tired I plan to move on to the Pride and Prejudice sequel I have on hand — Darcy’s Passions (Regina Jeffers)
  4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? Not really. I just told people I had a lot of reading to get done today and I would be available. I’m pretty sure they all thought I meant reading for classes but whatever.
  5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Yes, a couple and I’m sure I’ll have more tonight. But it’s my job to let my residents into the building and talk to them so I’m trying to take it in stride.
  6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How many inactives I’ve found! I’ve discovered at least five throughout the day.
  7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nop! My biggest complaint last year (the cheerleading assignments) was all cleared up. Thanks Trish and Erin!
  8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? Not be on duty the night before! I’m so tired!
  9. Are you getting tired yet? Oh, yes! But I’ll be here at least until Hour 19 (2 am, for me).
  10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders? Something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Just a reminder: Don’t forget to post what titles you’ve finished during the read-a-thon! There’s a simple form on the left-hand sidebar of the main read-a-thon site.
16 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon Updates (October 2011)

  1. Yuck on the late night. My first readathon i was stuck at work for 8 hours, so I missed all the community aspect of it. Made me not so happy…

    But I am glad to see you chugging along! Anna Karenina, hmm? I keep eying that title on my shelf and if it wasn’t for the fact I already have a million other reading obligations, I would be all over that readalong.

    I’ll be back to check in! Keep it up! 🙂

    Like

  2. I can’t believe you’re reading Anna Karenina today!! I’d have trouble too! Keep it up, Christina — you’re doing great. 😀

    Like

  3. Congrats on finishing your first book. And I’m with Jillian–Tolstoy! Holy cow. 😉

    Sounds like you’re doing great so far. And thank you SO much for your cheerleading. Rah Rah!!

    Give me an R
    Give me an E
    Give me an A
    Give me a D

    Go Christina!

    Like

  4. Congrats on wrapping up your first read. You’re doing a great job reading, cheering and mixing it up with mini challenges too.

    We love Bronte,
    Austen too!
    We love reading!
    How about you?

    I’m cheering for you from #cheercookie. Have a great read-a-thon!

    Like

  5. You’re doing great! Glad you enjoyed Leegant’s book – I really liked that one 🙂 You have guts reading Anna Karenina during the Read-A-Thon … I loved that book, but not sure I could have kept the Russian names straight with sleep deprivation!

    Like

  6. Hope the shift from Anna Karenina to something else is working for you! I’m going to try some short stories — ghost stories! Getting sleepy so I’m hoping this will keep me awake a little while longer.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

