Sunday Salon: October

September was a slow reading month for me. I read five books (finishing one on the very last day of the month) and reviewed all but one of them. A far cry from the eleven books I read in August or the twenty-six I read in January.

I could attribute the small number to a myriad of things such as a new job on-campus, a busier social life thanks the new clubs and new friends, or the fact that my classes are getting more difficult and demand more of my time. I could also point out that two of the books I read last month were long nonfiction reads, which take me longer to read. Now that I think about it, I only read nonfiction last month. A first for me! I also spent most of the month reading slogging through A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I finished it early this morning so I’ve already finished one long book this month.

But I think it might be time to admit that reading is going to be taking a backseat to other things over the next few months. I was sure the late nights demanded by my new resident adviser job would foster reading, but I’m finding that I much prefer to use the time to Skype with my parents and watch movies. And while one of my classes demand I read a couple of books over the semester, the rest are computer or mathematics-based. Very little reading, indeed!

I do have a couple of books I would like to get to in October, but I’m also trying not to put too much pressure on myself. I have a short break later this month but I will be spending it with my parents so I’m not anticipating reading much.

  • Between the Assassinations (Aravind Adiga) – The bright yellow cover of this book keeps grabbing my attention.
  • The Castles of Athlin and Dunbayne (Ann Radcliffe) – My selection for The Classics Circuit’s tour of gothic literature. I haven’t started it yet. My back-up read is Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen.
  • Daughters of the Canton Delta (Janice Stockard) – Required reading for a class so there’s no doubt I’ll read this one.
  • The Museum of Innocence (Orhan Pamuk) – My current read.
  • North of Boston and/or A Boy’s Will (Robert Frost) – My mom and I have discussed going to Robert Frost’s farm in New Hampshire. I figured I should read more than just one poem by him before going.
  • Wherever You Go (Joan Leegant) – A review copy sent by the author.

On the other hand, this cold I seem to be developing thanks to a hike through a torrential downpour might facilitate more reading. The picture above captures the beginning of my 11.6 mile (18.6 km) hike; it was too wet and I was in too much of a rush to take more pictures on the way back down.

I will also be participating in Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon on October 22nd both as a reader and as a cheerleader. (Haven’t signed up yet? You can sign up to be a cheerleader here and a reader here.) In the last read-a-thon this past April, I managed to finish four books – three novels and a graphic novel. Here’s hoping I have similar luck this month!

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on each other’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

10 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: October

  1. I’m glad you’ll be joining for the Readathon! Sounds like you have your hands full this month. I’d choose Skype and movies, too. Reading A Tale of Two Cities is a big ccomplishment. I hope you enjoyed it! 🙂

    And also, that hike (rain or otherwise) sounds freaking awesome. I love the picture.

    Like

    1. It actually was a lot of fun. Much more strenuous than I had anticipated and the rain was a bit of a downer, but I certainly am going to sign up for more excursions with my school’s outdoors club.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on the job! I agree that you shouldn’t put too much pressure on yourself to get a lot of reading done though it does feel good to finish a book. I hope your cold goes away soon!

    Like

    1. Me too! And thank you on the congratulations. In theory, I shouldn’t too much pressure on myself. But in reality it’s much harder than I thought. On the plus side, I haven’t been feeling too much pressure on blogging although I do get sad when the ol’ blog sits un-updated for a while.

      Like

    1. This is the first semester that I’ve really started to struggle with reading while at school. It’s always slowed down during the school year, but never as bad as this.

      Like

  3. I think it’s good not to pressure yourself too much. After all, reading and blogging are supposed to be fun! I’m reading Wherever You Go right now and enjoying it. It’s nicely written but still a pretty quick read. As for the Readathon — I’m so excited!!

    Like

  4. I really want to join the readathon, but I don’t think I will be able to 😦

    For me it works best to not put pressure on myself. Also, whenever I make reading plans I fail to stick to them. Now I just need to learn to accept that 😉

    Also, it is good to hear you are making new friends and keeping in contact with your family. Sometimes watching instead of reading can feel better if life gets a little crazy.

    Like

    1. Aww, that’s too bad, Iris. I was only able to participate for the first time this past April. In the past, the October break has always fallen during Fall Break for me and my parents didn’t fly 3,000 miles for me to ignore them for hours on end.

      I usually don’t make reading plans. At least, not formally. We’ll see how well I stick to this one.

      And, yes, sometimes it’s better to watch TV or a movie rather than trying to read. Especially when I have to stay up until 2 am!

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

