Less than a week after I’m lamenting about my lack of time to read due to other summertime pursuits and I still managed to go crazy at the library. The picture above is missing three or four books as I snapped it before gathering the books from downstairs so the list of what I’ve checked out this past week is in alphabetical order rather than picture order. I’m not sure how many of them I will get to over the next month and a half. Calculus takes up a lot of my time!

  • 600 Hours of Edward (Craig Lancaster) – Written by a Montana author, this book was recommend by a woman in my mom’s hiking group.
  • Before You Know Kindness (Chris Bohjalian) – I have enjoyed the three other books by Bohjalian I have read, and I am slowly making my way through his back catalog.
  • The Blind Assassin (Margaret Atwood) – In addition to Bohjalian, I am also slowly making my way through Atwood’s back catalog.
  • The Bridegroom (Ha Jin) – I discovered this collection of short stories while browsing the shelves at my local public library.
  • The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck) – For some reason, this novel terrifies me. I guess it’s because I’ve heard so many good things about it that I’m afraid it will not live up to my expectations. Let’s hope I get the courage up in time for the Classics Circuit’s Celebration of Steinbeck.
  • A Hidden Affair (Pam Jenoff) – I enjoyed two other books by Jenoff I’ve read and am looking forward to reading her most recent novel.
  • Hitler Youth (Michael H. Kater) – Another book I discovered while browsing the shelves. This nonfiction book looks at the Nazis’ juvenile propaganda program.
  • Infidel (Ayaan Hirsi Ali) – This memoir grabbed my attention based on the title alone.
  • The Lady in the Tower (Alison Weir) – I love Weir’s nonfiction books about the Tudor period so I was very excited to see this book, which covers the fall of Anne Boleyn, on the new nonfiction shelf at my library.
  • The Lonely Polygamist (Brady Udall) – Husband to four wives and father to twenty-eight children, Golden Richards really cannot afford to have a midlife crisis. I am on page 28 of this novel.
  • The Long Valley (John Steinbeck) – A collection of twelve short stories by Steinbeck I picked up for the Classics Circuit’s Celebration of Steinbeck.
  • Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind (Ellen F. Brown and John Wiley Jr.) – Subtitled “A Bestseller’s Odyssey from Atlanta to Hollywood”, this nonfiction book has been making the rounds of the blogs of book bloggers who love Mitchell’s novel as much as me (or even more!).
  • Natasha’s Dance (Orlando Figes) – Subtitled “A Cultural History of Russia”, I picked up this book in the hopes of learning more about the country.
  • Out of Mao’s Shadow (Philip P. Pan) – Subtitled “The Struggle for the Soul of a New China”, I started this book on the drive back home from my most recent camping trip. At 32 pages, I have already been introduced to a leader of China who sided with the protesters during the Tiananmen Square Protests of 1989 and was subsequently blacklisted by the party.
  • Small Island (Andrea Levy) – Winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction in 2004, this novel also made the rounds on the blogosphere.
  • Sweet Thursday (John Steinbeck) – This book is the sequel to Cannery Row and takes place after World War II. I picked this book up for the Classics Circuit’s Celebration of Steinbeck, but I won’t read it unless I can get my hands on a copy of Cannery Row.
  • Victoria’s Daughters (Jerrold M. Packard) – This nonfiction book looks at the lives of five daughters of Queen Victoria, whom the back cover claims “were dominated by their mother, married off as much for political advantage as for love, and passed over entirely when their brother Bertie ascended to the throne”.
  • The Wayward Bus (John Steinbeck) – This novel introduces readers to the Salinas Valley in California post-World War II. Another selection for the Classics Circuit’s Celebration of Steinbeck.
  • We Two (Gillian Gill) – Subtitled “Victoria and Albert: Rules, Partners, Rivals”, I’ve wanted to read this book since seeing “The Young Victoria” in November of last year.

Library Loot:

A weekly (or monthly, in my case) event, Library Loot encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from their local library. Whether you vlog about or write about, the format doesn’t matter as along as you share what followed you home this week (or, again in my case, each month). The event is hosted by Claire and Marg.