In need of help on their farm, siblings Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert send word to a friend to fetch a boy from the orphanage. Instead, they were sent a freckle-faced, redhead eleven-year-old girl with a very active imagination named Anne (spelled with an e, please).

Marilla is set on sending Anne Shirley back to the orphanage the next morning, but this charming young girl desperately wants to stay at Green Gables with Marilla and her brother and promises to keep herself in line if only the Cuthberts will let her stay and allow her to call herself Anne of Green Gables.

I know several people who consider this book to be a childhood favorite, my own mother being one of them. In fact, she gave me this copy of the novel several years ago and I let it languish on my shelves until now. I certainly understand why people cherish it so much. Precocious and spunky Anne is charming (even though she talks too much); I adored her imagination. We probably would have been kindred spirits had I read this book back when my mom first recommended it.

Overall, this coming of age story is quite sweet. Anne learns the true meaning of friendship, how to accept her looks (after dying her hair green!), and grows as a student. Her education takes the forefront of this story, especially at the end, and she becomes quite the grown-up in 373 pages. I would have slightly preferred spending more time in Anne’s imagination than reading about her studying for college examination, but I guess all little girls must grow up. Lucky for me, Montgomery’s novel is here to remind me of life as an imaginative child.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Montgomery, L. M. Anne of Green Gables. New York: Apple Classics, 1989. Originally published 1908. Print. 373 pgs. ISBN: 059042243X. Source: Gift.
Book Cover © Scholastic. Retrieved: July 11, 2011.
