The Girl in the Green Raincoat by Laura Lippman

This is the eleventh book in Lippman’s series of mysteries staring Tess Monaghan, but it is the first of her books that I have read. I first heard of this book from CaribousMom last month when she hosted a giveaway of the novel. I requested my own copy off PaperBackSwap after I did not win a copy in the giveaway and sat down to read it soon after it arrived.

Tess has been placed on bed rest for the last two months of her pregnancy much to her chagrin. From her spot in the sunroom she watches a girl in a green raincoat walk her greyhound through the park adjacent to Tess’ house day after day. Until, that is, Tess ominously notices the dog running loose. Convinced some harm has befallen its owner she becomes dangerously obsessed with learning her fate.

As a character, I really liked Tess and would be happy to read more mysteries/crime novels staring her. But I thought this particular novel was just okay. I knew the ending before I reached the end of the book, which is always a disappointment when it comes to crime novels.

There were also a couple moments where the narration did not exactly line up. While the story was told always from Tess’s point of view, sometimes the narrator was Tess herself, but a few pages later, a third person took over the narration. I realize that was because Tess was bedridden so she couldn’t be every where but it just bugged me.

Even so, I could be tempted to read another book by Lippman as I rather liked Tess and her friends.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Lippman, Laura. The Girl in the Green Raincoat. New York: William Marrow, 2008. Print. 158 pgs. ISBN: 9781611292398. Source: PaperBackSwap.
Book Cover © William Marrow. Retrieved: June 4, 2011.
Please feel free to share your thoughts

