Plain and Simple by Sue Bender

Subtitled “A Woman’s Journey to the Amish”, the author travels across the country to figure out the root cause of her an obsession with the Amish. Bender’s book is her personal memoir on the two times she lives in Amish families and her struggle to implement the simplicity and plainness of their lives into her own harried Californian existence.

Personally, I am not usually a fan of all-about-me books without some kind of extraordinary situation or problem being the basis of the tale. What’s more, I thought this book would give the reader some insight into the Amish and their culture because Bender lived with them.

But while that’s not the case, I actually enjoyed this memoir. I too have an obsession with the Amish (as you may have noticed), and I think that comes from an interest in the perceived simplicity and plainness of their lives.

After her first visit to the Amish, Bender tries to implement these characteristics in her own life and struggles so badly that she feels like she has to go back. Is there a place for simplicity, plainness, humility in our all-about-me, wired culture? And I guess Bender’s struggle is what I found most interesting about this memoir. There’s a lot of food for thought in this short tale, and I remember putting it down (I read it almost a week ago) with my thoughts abuzz about the struggle to find a healthy balance, purpose, and meaning.

While this is not the book for people looking to learn about the Amish, I found it to be a very interesting addition to my quest to learn more about this community of believers.

Book Mentioned:

  • Bender, Sue. Plain and Simple: A Woman’s Journey to the Amish. San Francisco, C.A.: HarperSanFrancisco, 1989. Print. 152 pgs. ISBN: 0062500589. Source: Library.
Purchase Plain and Simple from Amazon by clicking on the linked title to your left and I’ll receive a small portion of the price you pay. All proceeds are used to purchase more books.
2 thoughts on “Plain and Simple by Sue Bender

  1. >>Is there a place for simplicity, plainness, humility in our all-about-me, wired culture? And I guess Bender’s struggle is what I found most interesting about this memoir.

    Ohhh: that makes me want to read it! Have you read Mystics, Mavericks, and Merrymakers? It’s a somewhat similar book, looking at the experiences of Jewish girls in a very Orthodox, isolated community. At the end, the author looks at what’s good about the way they’re raised and how to translate that for the rest of American girls.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

