Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I read the first book in this series, The Hunger Games, in June 2009 so more than a year ago and it hasn’t stuck with me as much as I thought it would have especially after I wrote about how eagerly I was anticipating the second book. I remembered the basic premise, but the budding romance between Peeta and Katniss and Katniss and Gale wasn’t all that familiar to me nor did I remember the details of how people died in the Games. All of this said, reading the second book in the series was much more difficult than I anticipated it to be. The continued references to the first book did nothing to build anticipation within this novel’s story.

With the Games over, Katniss is expecting to have enough money to save her family from hunger, but her and Peeta’s win has made it Katniss an unwittingly a symbol of revolution against the Capital. President Snow is none too please and Katniss is now trapped in trying to please him in order to save the lives of everyone she loves — her mother, Prim, Gale, Gale’s family.  But  the pspark has turned into a ragging fire and there is absolutely nothing Katniss can do to stop it. This year also happens to the be the 75th Games meaning that the Gamemakers decide on new rules of how tributes are selected f for the games., and because of President Snow’s displeasure Katniss finds herself back in the arena.

Without going into too much detail, the uprisings were the most intersting part of the book and, for me, the return of Katniss to the arena were not. I’m not that interested in Katniss’ romance problems and, unfortunately, this book spends a lot of time covering who she’s in love with and who she’s not in love with. Eh. I guess you could say over all I though this book was just mediocre. Will I read the third book? Maybe. Maybe not. Let’s just say I’m not in any rush.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Collins, Suzanne. Catching Fire. New York: Scholastic Press, 2009. Print. 391 pgs. ISBN: 9780439023498. Source: PaperBackSwap.
Book Cover © Scholastic Press. Retrieved: September 8, 2010.
One thought on “Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

  1. I haven’t read The Hunger Games yet so I skimmed this review. I’m sorry you didn’t like this much. I’ve heard many complain about the third book in the series. And yet, I can’t help but look forward to reading them someday.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

