You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 20, 2010.

Currently I’m dabbling in two nonfiction books — Xinran’s China Witness: Voices from a Silent Generation and Unholy Business: A True Tale of Faith, Greed, and Forgery in the Holy Land by Nina Burleigh. The later book deals with the forgery of Biblical artifacts that are currently making their way onto the market, and the former is a collection of interviews Xinran conducted with “the nation’s grandparents and great-grandparents, the men and women who have experienced, first-hand, the vast changes of the modern era”. Coincidentally, I’m on page 20 of each books; not very far, for sure.

I really should be starting Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky for The Classic Circuit‘s Imperial Russian Literature Tour as my thoughts are supposed to posted on July 11, and I’m sure if I will fly through the novel or if it will take me some time to read. Once again, though, I’m intimidated so on July 11 there may be my thoughts on why I’m intimidated rather my thoughts on the novel.

Challenges aren’t going as well as I had hoped they would, but I’m not letting it bog me down. My plan for this summer (and this year) was to be more spontaneous in my reading selections and not become so focused on crossing things off lists. Yet, I still thought I would include an update for those of you who are curious.

Currently, however, the weather is beautiful, which means reading is not my top priority. My family and I went on a long bike ride (an hour and a half) Friday, and I spent a good chunk of my time yesterday outside in the garden as well as riding my bike to the library. And since today is Father’s Day I imagine we’re going outside celebrating my dad as long as the weather holds. Too bad the hammock isn’t set up (and nursing a major sunburn) as I would probably be reading out there.

Books Mentioned:

  • Burleigh, Nina. Unholy Business: A True Tale of Faith, Greed & Forgery in the Holy Land. New York: HarperCollins, 2008. Print. 371 pgs. ISBN: 9780061458453. Source: Library.
  • Dostoyevsky, Fyodor. Crime and Punsihment. New York: Signet Classics, 2006. Print. 536 pgs. ISBN: 04515330063.
  • Xinran. China Witness: Voices from a Silent Generation. New York: Patheon, 2008. Print. 435 pgs. ISBN: 9780375425479. Source: Library.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

Photo © Me. Big sky country. Taken: June 08, 2010.
June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Currently Reading

Popular Posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers