Little Face by Sophie Hannah

Little FaceTalk about physiological; Little Face capitalizes on the fear of every mother (and babysitter) — the disappearance of a sleeping baby. With her husband, David, refuses to believe her Alice’s fear turns into full out paranoia, and Hannah uses the fact that the reader never knows if Alice is telling the truth or not to really propel her story into the physiological world. You’re questioning her while the police are asking their own questions and Alice is questioning herself.

I also really liked the way the narrative alternates between Alice’s first-person point of view and third-person point of view with the police. I was expecting it, and while I was originally worried it become really confusing, I actually thought that it really made this crime thriller stand apart from others I’ve read.

But the ending explained things in such detail that I felt like I was being talked to like I was too stupid to figure it out with the context clues given. And even though the characters of Alice and the detective, Simon, assigned to her case are fantastically formulated and presented, Alice’s mother-in-law, David, and the other players in the game clearly lack depth and realness compared to these two main characters.

All in all, Little Face is a good story that certainly has it’s hits and misses.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Hannah, Sophie. Little Face. New York: Penguin, 2008. Print. 320 pgs. ISBN: 9780143114086. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © Penguin. Retrieved: June 26, 2009.
One thought on “Little Face by Sophie Hannah

  1. I really enjoyed reading Little Face. I thought it was so different to anything I’d read before and the shock twist at the end made up for any flaws that might have been present.

    I’m looking forward to reading more books by Sophie Hannah in the future.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

