Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott

Living Dead GirlWhen Alice was ten, Ray took her away from her family, her friends — her life. She learned to give up all power, to endure all pain. She waited for the nightmare to be over. Now Alice is fifteen and Ray still has her, but he speaks more and more of her death. He does not know it is what she longs for. She does not know he has something more terrifying than death in mind for her.

Recommended to me by my friend Helen, Living Dead Girl, the story of kidnapped, sexual abuse victim “Alice,” begins in a haunting manner:

“Once upon a time I was a little girl who disappeared.
Once upon a time my name was not Alice.
Once upon a time I didn’t know how lucky I was.” (pg. 1)

However, for me at least, the stomach gripping and intense need-to-read did not happen. Maybe I’ve watched too much “Law and Order: SVU” because I felt there was too much shock and not enough storyline. The boy Alice has sex with in the park doesn’t make sense, Ray doesn’t make sense, the kidnapping doesn’t make sense. I could not connect with the characters other than Alice, there’s a lot of cliches within Living Dead Girl, and I felt the ending totally fell flat.

I did, though, like Alice. I felt she was very real, and my heart broke for her. However, I just wasn’t 100 percent gripped by this novel like so many have been.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Scott, Elizabeth. Living Dead Girl. New York: Simon Pulse, 2008. Print. 170 pgs. ISBN: 9781416960591. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Simon Pulse. Retrieved: June 23, 2009.
One thought on “Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott

Please feel free to share your thoughts

