The Forbidden by Beverly Lewis

ForbiddenCaleb Yoder’s father has forbidden him to court Nellie Mae Fisher, but words alone cannot stop Caleb’s devotion. Yet if he continues to pursue Nellie, he risks losing everything. Nellie, too, is torn. She longs to marry her Old Order beau but cannot ignore the gentle pull she feels toward the faith of her New Order family. Can she and her beloved satisfy the expectations of the People while remaining true to their hearts?”

As I said in my review of The Parting, the first book in The Courtship of Nellie Fisher series, I wasn’t planning on continuing with this series because the main characters, Nellie and Caleb, are both completely selfish, and I was lead to believe that the story surrounding infertile Rosanna and her husband, Elias, was wrapped up. However, someone spilled the beans about what happens in The Forbidden, and I just had to read it to find out for myself.

Nellie and Caleb are still pretty selfish, although I did like Nellie more than before. But it’s Rosanna that saves this novel for me. Her scenes are so packed with emotions that I was incredibly tempted to jump to the next section with her in it, which I wouldn’t recommend for Lewis’ novels as you need to read everything to understand, and her story is heart-wrenching to the point where I had tears in my eyes are we drove down the interstate.

The rest of the novel I could live without, but Rosanna has to be one of my favorite Beverly Lewis characters.

Book Mentioned:

  • Lewis, Beverly. The Forbidden. Minneapolis, Minn.: Bethany House, 2008. Print. 351 pgs. ISBN: 9781615535378. Source: Library.
  • Lewis, Beverly. The Parting. Minneapolis, Minn.: Bethany House, 2008. Print. 345 pgs. ISBN: 9780764203107. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Bethany House. Retrieved: June 20, 2009.
Please feel free to share your thoughts

