Sunday Salon: Dewey’s Read-A-Thon

Congratulations to all of you who participated in Dewey’s Read-A-Thon yesterday. Whether you stayed up for all 24 hours or only twelve, finished 12 books or none, and were a reader or a cheerleader, you did something to help bring this community together and remember Dewey.

deweys-readathonbutton1Because I had prom yesterday — super fun, but my ears are still ringing and my feet hurt from those high heels — I dubbed myself an unofficial cheerleader and tried to root on all the bloggers I follow who were participating. I loved being a cheerleader, especially since it really forced me to de-lurk and actually say something to all the bloggers, many of whom I’ve never even left comments for before {I know, bad blogger}.

I also caught the reading bug later in the afternoon and finished Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez and The Secret of Shadow Ranch (Carolyn Keene), which finished off two challenges for me. I’m also about 80 paged in The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society )Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows), and hoping to finish it sometime today. And, of course, there’s always Heart of Darkness (Joseph Conrad) to get caught up on.

I believe that’s just about it on the reading front for me. I’m pretty exhausted as I didn’t get to bed until 2 a.m. and only slept till 8:45 a.m. but, alas, we have an open house this afternoon, so I don’t foresee a nap in my future.

Once again, congrats to all the readers (and cheerleaders). I’m hoping next year I’ll actually be able to put my Read-A-Thon reads to use.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Dewey’s Read-A-Thon

  1. You are my kind of reader! The amazing range of a mind that can love Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Nancy Drew in one day. Hope your prom was a great time. Today I am reading Unaccustomed Earth. Happy reading!

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

