Sunday Salon: Recommendations for the Read-a-Thon

I have this sinking feeling that I’m always starting my Sunday Salon posts with either “[insert month] flew by” or “I’m about to head off to the airport,” and low and behold the later is what I’m starting out this Salon with. I headed to Massachusetts to make sure that Clark University is exactly where I want to go; if not, it’s back to my pro/con lists.

Right now, I’m meandering through Heart of Darkness {Joseph Conrad} — the current selection for my English class. It’s rumored that we’re going to be reading Crime and Punishment and/or Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë before the year’s out, but I seriously doubt it because the AP English Literature exam is on Thursday, May 7th and my classmates’ attention spans are seriously waning.

Anyways, as for Heart of Darkness, I’m in the mist of part two, so this assessment maybe a bit too premature, but I think few people give it the credit it deserves. It’s so beautifully written – almost like a long poem – and I love the physiological exploration.

I also just finished Annette Vallon (James Tipton), but probably won’t have the review up until later this week as we’re supposed to be leaving for the airport right about now. And I’m looking forward to starting The Reader (Bernhard Schlink) and Revolutionary Road (Richard Yates) on the plane. I’m also bringing Love in the Time of Cholera (Gabriel Garcia Marquez); I think that if I actually started the book with no other choices, I might finish it. It’s not that I don’t like it; it’s that his sentences are very long, very verbose, and just seem to put me right to sleep. I liked the movie, and I’m determined to try the book.

deweys-readathonbuttonJust a reminder, Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon is coming up on Saturday. I won’t be able to participate because of prom, but I’m going to make an honest effort to stop by and cheer ya’ll on. I’m toying with the idea of being a cheerleader, or maybe having my own little five hour read-a-thon in the morning. We’ll see.

Anyways, Trish has a great post up on why you should join the read-a-thon, and Eva has a great list of books you should consider for the read-a-thon. I second her recommendation of Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher; it was one of my favorite books last year and will definitely keep you going through the wee hours of the night. I count The Other Boleyn Girl (Philippa Gregory) as one of my favorite books, and Not Buying It by Judith Levine is an easy, but funny book. I’ve also heard good things about A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Recommendations for the Read-a-Thon

  1. I feel the same about Heart of Darkness.. it really IS beautifully written. I can understand your quibble about Cholera but hope you get in the groove as it’s a hundred times better than the movie. (Although I’ve a couple of friends who didn’t like the book.)

    Are you all set for the prom yet? I’m still Proust-ing, but prepping for the read-a-thon, too. Happy trip and week!

    Like

  2. I have Cholera waiting for me, but I, too, keep putting it off. I did the first Read-a-Thon, but missed most of the second one. I hope to make it through this one, though I’ll have to stop in the afternoon and take in a bridal shower. I wonder if I could read quietly through the shower….

    Like

  3. Hmmmm… Readathon. Prom. How to choose….

    Have a great trip, and I hope you like Clark Univ. And, you won a copy of A Lucky Child on the Diversity Rocks challenge! Email me with your mailing address to claim your copy.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

