A is for Alibi by Sue Grafton

a-is-for-alibiA is for Alibi is the first book in the alphabet mystery series, and introduces no nonsense Kinsey Millhone — a thirty-two year-old, twice divorced ex-cop who has a tendency to over share everything. As a P.I., I would assume that Kinsey would be very observant, but I really don’t need to know that her sandwich was falling apart as she spoke to Diane, Laurence’s daughter with his first wife. And I wasn’t all that fond of Kinsey; she was a little too predictable and crash for my taste.

A is for Alibi is easy to follow along with as far as the plot, but I’m more interested in reading some of her later books. This one felt a little clunky, like it wasn’t fleshed out completely, and although it was mildly suspenseful, I kind of lost focus here and there.

I listened to this book on tape, and though it’s not my first audio book, it is the first one I’ve listened to without following along with the book. Peiffer’s narrator wasn’t that great as she read a sentence, paused, read a sentence, and paused. A distraction I’m happy I’ll be avoiding with the next book in this series as my library has B is for Burglar through T is for Trespass available as a book.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Grafton, Sue. “A” Is for Alibi: A Kinsey Millhone Mystery. New York: St. Martin’s Paperbacks, 2005. First published 1982. Print. 288 pgs (7 CDs). ISBN: 9780312938994. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Holt, Rinehart, and Winston. Retrieved: April 10, 2009.
Please feel free to share your thoughts

