Maus II by Art Spiegelman

maus-iiWinner of the 1992 Pulitzer Prize, Maus tells the story of Spiegelman’s parents during the Holocaust from the perspective of a son watching his father with all the frustration that accompanies it. All people are presented as animals as a representation of their nationality (for example, all Jews are depicted as mice, hence the name Maus which is German for “mouse”), an ingenious way to clearly show who is who in this story.

And Here My Troubles Began is the continuation of the first volume, subtited My Father Bleeds History, and is much darker than the first volume. The pictures are darker and the content is darker, but it’s presented in a way that make sit much easier to handle. Instead of inundating you with pictures of the Holocaust, And Here My Troubles Began is written like you are having a conversation with Vladek.

And Here My Troubles Began continues to be extremely easy to read, but, like My Father Bleeds History, although the pictures are small and in black and white, they still have an impact on you as the reader. Yet, in this volume, I felt like there were quite a few unanswered questions and moments where the story was left hanging, which is why I gave it a four.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Spiegelman, Art. Maus II: A Survivor’s Tale: And Here My Troubles Began. New York, NY: Pantheon, 1991. Print. 136 pgs. ISBN: 9780679729778. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Pantheon. Retrieved: April 5, 2009.
4 thoughts on “Maus II by Art Spiegelman

  1. Did you read them at the same time? I did (in the same volume) and I can’t imagine reading them at different times. They felt like they were meant to be one book. I can’t believe they were published five years apart.

    I do agree there are some unanswered questions in the second half, but that is because it’s a continuing story. It’s real. Just because they “got out” of the concentration camp didn’t mean it ended. The father still was surviving the holocaust, and that continuing story is what made it so powerful for me.

    Like

  2. @ Rebecca: I read them back to back. I actually borrowed the second one from my English teacher, and had to check out the first one from the library. You make a very good point; I just thought something — I don’t know what — was missing from the second one.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

