The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

memory-keepers-daughterFor some odd reason, when I first heard of The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, I thought it would be something along the lines of The Time Traveler’s Wife. Kind of like The Giver, I thought it would involve an actual memory keeper and her daughter. I wasn’t prepared for a novel about families and Down’s syndrome, and I certainly wasn’t prepared to spend my first night in Florida reading in the bathtub of my hotel room so I wouldn’t wake up my parents.

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter is one of those books that completely and utterly deserved all the hype it received. {Although, it apparently didn’t work if I thought it was a sci-fi novel.} The novel is, to put it plainly, a beautiful book. Completely heartbreaking and memorizing, the novel is an examination of the consequences of our actions, but more specifically what happens when the very thing you tried to avoid happens, and how relationships can shift, break, move, and grow around unspoken and unseen things. It’s a fascinating read.

Edwards is a very talented writer; her writing flows from one page to the next with such rich imagery and deep emotions that I could clearly see and feel the world of uncertainty her characters felt. I felt completely involved with her characters – from the overwhelming confusion Caroline feels at David’s decision to the emptiness Norah feels when none acknowledges her “dead” baby to the remorse David carries with him at every page. And I loved how fascinated by her characters she was. Rather than appearing to have been created, her characters are very human, and Edwards explores every detail of their lives along with the reader rather than showing them to us.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Edwards, Kim. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter.New York, NY: Penguin, 2006. Print. 401 pgs. ISBN: 9780143037149. Source: PaperBackSwap.
Book Cover © Penguin. Retrieved: March 16, 2009.
One thought on “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

Please feel free to share your thoughts

