And This Our Life by C. Allyn Pierson

and-this-our-lifeAnd This Our Life is a wonderful sequel to Pride and Prejudice, especially for readers who don’t enjoy all of the bodice-ripping that has plagued other sequels. The story immediately picks up where Pride and Prejudice ends with the Bingleys and the Darcys settling into married life. Society is both curious and distrusting of Mr. Darcy’s new bride; a plot line I think would have been more accurate than other sequels where everyone falls under Elizabeth’s charm. Georgiana matures in a believable fashion and her marriage to her cousin, Fitzwilliam, a move I’ve never quite liked, made me change my stance.

The story could have benefited from a bit more drama — the Darcys’ life is a bit too idealistic and perfect. Darcy comes across as completely perfect, although he all know he has his faults, and is given his own story line when he is sent to chase after the Prince’s letters from his secret wife, which was my least favorite part about And This Our Life. But Pierson’s knowledge of the Regency period if very obvious, and I will make sure to snag the second book in this series.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Pierson, C. Allyn. And This Our Life. New York: iUniverse, 2008. Print. 236 pgs. ISBN: 9780595448449. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © iUniverse. Retrieved: March 14, 2009.
4 thoughts on “And This Our Life by C. Allyn Pierson

  1. I enjoyed this book also, and exactly the same reactions as you! It is a solid debut for this author. I hope the next in the series arrives soon.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. – Laurel Ann

    Like

  2. I’ve never read a P&P sequel because I’m afraid of reading a bad one and tainting the excellent picture I have of Darcy and Elizabeth. You’re so brave.. how many sequels have you read at least?? 😀

    Like

  3. @ Laurel Ann: Like you, I’m hoping the sequel to her sequel will arrive soon, if for no other reason than to find out whether or not they have a little girl or boy.

    @ Clarie: I understand your reservation. I have the same fear before I was given Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife for my birthday. Since then I’ve read at least fifteen sequels, not including ones on fanfiction websites that really deserve to be published. (For example, I read Abigail Reynold’s stories before they were published.) But my list has 63 on it, so I have a ways to go.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

