The Last Man in the World by Abigail Reynolds

last-man-in-the-worldI was first introduced to The Last Man in the World when a friend of mine found it online, printed the entire story, and gave it to me as a present. She knew how much I loved Pride and Prejudice, and her gift quickly fueled my thirst for more pride, more prejudice.

Somewhere in between moving bedrooms two times, pages out of my printed copy were lost. When I went online to redownload the novel, I found that Reynolds removed everything from the site, saying that her FanFiction was going to be printed into actual books. I was so excited for her, and I immediately added The Last Man in the World to my wish list. It’s taken two years, but I’ve finally received a copy.

I knew most of the plot since I had read The Last Man in the World over and over again. But the story, and Reynolds’ writing style, gets to me every time. Her story is the road untraveled, one I’m thankful Austen never took in her original. But it’s so wonderfully written that I almost wish she had renamed her characters, added a beginning for them, and turned this into a historical romance. Almost.

Still, after a while, the constant misunderstandings between Darcy and Elizabeth got to me. Obviously, Elizabeth is supposed to hold Darcy in contempt while he is in raptures with her, and it works for a majority of the story. But end the end, I just wanted to bang Elizabeth and Darcy’s heads together and tell them to knock it off.

Book Mentioned:

  • Reynolds, Abigail. The Last Man in the World. Madison, WI: Intertidal, 2006. Print. 182 pgs. ISBN: 9780615147505. Source: Purchased.
One thought on “The Last Man in the World by Abigail Reynolds

Please feel free to share your thoughts

