The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

kite-runnerHosseini’s novel tells the story of Amir, an Afghan boy, and his friendship with the son of his father’s servant, Hassan.While the differences in their economic status drives a wedge in their relationship, as well as the fact that Amir is a Pashtun/Sunni and Hassan is a Hazara/Shi’a, Hassan will do anything for Amir “a thousand times over.” Yet, Amir cannot look past their differences to see that that their relationship is not the normal relationship between master and servant, but actually a friendship.

“The curious thing was, I never thought of Hassan and me as friends either. Not in the usual sense, anyhow. Never mind that we taught each other to ride a bicycle with no hands, or to build a fully functional homemade camera out of a cardboard box. Never mind that we spent entire winters flying kites running kites. Never mind that to me, the face of Afghanistan is that of a boy with a thin-boned frame, a shaved hear, and low-set ears, a boy with a Chinese doll face perpetually lit by a harelipped smile. Never mind any of those things. Because history isn’t easy to overcome. Neither is religion. In the end, I was Pashtun and he was a Hazara, I was a Sunni and he was Shi’a,and nothing was ever going to change that. Noting.” (pg. 25)

But after Amir witnesses Hassan getting raped, to which he does nothing to stop, Amir decides that can no longer be around Hassan. Their relationship, and that of Hassan and Amir’s fathers change, in light of the incident. In 1979, the Soviet Union invades Afghanistan and Amir and his father, Baba, emigrate to the United States, which forces them to start over and build new lives. Amir moves on, but in 2001, he gets a phone call that sends him back to Afghanistan, back to confront his past.

When I started The Kite Runner I wasn’t sure what had made me avoid the novel for so long. I’ve owned the book since 2004, and I’ve never seen the movie nor had I picked it until now. I quickly flew the first 100 pages, stomaching everything that Hosseini threw at me. I had several friends complain about the subject manner of the book but I’ve read worse.

The story itself has the potential to be very affecting, and the complex and troubled relationship between Amir and his father – and its impact on Amir’s life choices – is interesting, as is the family’s close relationships with their servants, which only leads to social tensions between those who have everything and those who serve. The message of the book is very powerful, and serves as a good reminder of how power a lie, or just hiding the truth, can be.

“When you kill a man, you steal a life,” Baba said. “You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness.” (pg. 18)

But as for the setting, I know several people have said that they enjoyed learning about Afghanistan culture, but there was nothing new for me. I spent twelve weeks in school studying the Middle East in great detail, and spent almost double that amount of time learning about Islam in church. The Kite Runner, to me, read like every other book about a foreign culture: retell the story in any other third-world country and it would be the exact same.

The writing is extremely simplistic, which at times worked in The Kite Runner‘s favor, but at other times skipped over what I found to be interesting and vital to the story. My interest quickly waned as the story continued. The characters were either saints or I hated them. The only truly “human” was Baba, Amir’s father because Baba has flaws and is not perfect, as Amir comes to learn, and even then his character comes as flat and boring. The Kite Runner has potential and conveys a very important message but, in the end, it fell flat.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Hosseini, Khaled. The Kite Runner. New York: Riverhead Trade, 2004. Originally published 2003. Print. 371 pgs. ISBN: 1594480001. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © Riverhead Trade. Retrieved: January 3, 2009.
9 thoughts on “The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

  1. I didn’t like it much either, but it was more because of the violence than the flat characters. Some scenes were just too graphic for me.

    Like

  2. Thanks for participating in the 9 for ’09 Challenge.

    This novel disturbed me a lot. It exposes the dark side of a society that claims to be “better” than the corrupt West.

    I didn’t like the fact that there were hardly any women in the book.

    But, I felt that I learned a lot, since I didn’t take any courses in Arabic/Islamic studies in college.

    Like

  3. This book is very insightful. I couldn’t let go of it after I started it. Some details are graphic so do not read it if you feel queasy easily.

    Like

  4. You don’t like the book because it is too graphic? Are you crazy! How can you let something like that stand in your way of reading a great story? And what do you mean by “This novel disturbed me a lot. It exposes the dark side of a society that claims to be “better” than the corrupt West.”? Are you saying that the western culture is a better culture. Do you think that any influence from western cultures worked out well? People there are suffering more than ever because of this wind from the west! It gave the Taliban a chance too take over the whole culture.

    I absolutely loved the book. And I too hated Amir. But I think that gives the reader a look into Baba’s perspective too. The reader hates Amir for the same reason as Baba.

    Like

    1. @ Nick: I wish you had directed your comment directly at workingwords100; you had me confused for a moment because I knew I hadn’t said that. Anyways, I agree with you said about the necessity of Amir; without him the reader wouldn’t understand Baba.

      Like

  5. I really enjoyed this book a lot. I read it for my high school english class, It was on the list of books that we could choose from to do a book project on, and I’m glad that I did. A lot of people on this site are saying that they didn’t like it and I can’t see why, there is a lot of violence and how Amir thinks of Hassan is also a little sad but that is just part of the story. Besides that I really loved Amir and his character, I feel that it showed some of the cultural barriers taking place in that part of the world and it was very insightful, it made me think quite a bit. I learned a lot form this book and would recommend it.

    Like

  6. This book is good i enjoy reading i couldnt put it down , it had its graphic parts in the sorry ….
    And i will read it again. In the book you will hate Amir for not doing anything and jus looking on and not saying a word as they Rape his Best friend.
    BUT I STILL LOVE THE BOOK ITS REAL GOOD

    I will say thanks to my Friend Adrian Harper-Vassell
    for lending me the book “the kite runner ”

    Marissa
    Trinidad & Tobago

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

