Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

breaking-dawnI’ve finally got my hands on a copy of Breaking Dawn. I was disenfranchised with Eclipse but I wanted to see how the series ended. I had heard a lot of bad things about Breaking Dawn, what with its broken beds, awkward sexual innuendo, and major plot let downs, and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. (Opps, forgot to warn you. There are going to be spoilers in this review.)

So, we rejoin Bella, Edward, and gang in the last novel of the series. Bella’s still kind of whinny, but, surprisingly, I liked her better. I couldn’t exactly put my finger on it, but maybe I’ve built up tolerance towards her. Edward, mysterious Edward, is still the servant to Bella’s every whim, and Jacob is still stumbling around like an abused dog. One who can’t get it through his head that Bella was always going to end up Edward.

“Edward. Edward. My life and his were twisted into a single strand. Cut on, and you cut both. If he were gone, I would not be able to live through that. If I were gone, he wouldn’t live through it, either. And a world without Edward seemed completely pointless. Edward had to exist.” (pg. 373)

I was engrossed for about 600 pages, so much that I read the whole thing in a day. Unlike Eclipse, there is a plot line, albeit weak. But it’s interesting, and I was ready for a big fight between the Cullens and the Volturi. I never got one, because once Aro sees Renesmee, the two groups are once again the best of friends. I feel like Meyer hit the 700-page mark, and she realized she needed to wrap this sucker up right now.

I know quite a few people complained about Bella getting pregnant, especially since Meyer said that vampires could not have babies. I guess those spoiling reviews gave me a heads up because, while it wasn’t explained the way I wanted it too, I didn’t have a problem with the idea. I had a problem with how it was executed.

This baby was killing her! It was feeding on her blood, breaking her ribs and pelvis bone, and slowly killing her, and I totally sided with Edward on this one, except for the whole “I’ll even let her have a litter of pups,” which is just down right creepy and goes against his protective, Bella-is-mine nature. Then Bella, who fainted during blood typing in Twilight, managed to down gallons of blood to sustain the thing that’s killing? Kind of a 180, if you ask me.

My biggest complaints are that, one, the Twilight series has always been Bella’s story, but in the one “book” I was actually interested in reading, it was told from Jacob’s point of view. I definitely like  Jacob better than Edward or Bella, and I liked reading from his point of view, but I wish Meyer had told Breaking Dawn all from Bella’s point of view and then gone back a rewrote it from Jacob’s point of view like she’s doing with Edward in Midnight Sun. Two, I realize that imprinting is an involuntary action, but Jacob imprinting on Renesmee was just plain creepy. Meyer may have wanted a happy ending, but…ew!

A close second to that, I feel like life was too easy for Bella in the end. In Eclipse, she realized she was going to have to give up her friends, her family, and everything she knows to be with Edward. Yet, in Breaking Dawn, she still gets to have a “need to know” relationship with Charlie, she doesn’t like the taste of blood despite being a vampire, and she get’s to be a mommy to the prettiest baby there ever was. I like happy endings, but this was a little too happy. (Example? Edward is calling Jacob “my brother, my son.”) Still, I really enjoyed reading about Bella’s change and the discovery of her special power. And in comparison to Eclipse, Breaking Dawn was much better.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Meyer, Stephenie. Breaking Dawn. New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2008. Print. 754 pgs. ISBN: 031606792X. Source: Gift.
Book Cover © Little, Brown and Company. Retrieved: January 2, 2009.
4 thoughts on “Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

  1. wow, i feel like all of the books were absolutely amazing. the story line of all of them kept me wanting more and i couldn’t put the books down. everything in them was suspensefull and action filled. breaking dawns ending wasnt the ending i was expecting..it being happy and everything…and yeah part of me was wanting something seriously bad to happen, but edward and bella is the love story of the century and im glad stephenie was able to keep them both living.

    Like

    1. @ Tricia: You’re welcome.

      @ Liz: “the story line of all of them kept me wanting more and i couldn’t put the books down.” I agree. They are addicting, and I read Twilight, New Moon, and Breaking Dawn each all the way through in one sitting. Eclipse took me about a week. I doubt Meyer would have killed Edward and Bella, but I did want some action. There was a lot of build up to a fight that never happened.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

