The College Hook by Pam Proctor

college-hookSubtitled “Packaging Yourself to Win the College Admissions Game”, Proctor’s book is very informative, and I’d recommend students — and parents — read it before students start high school. The book emphasize how to separate yourself from others, an idea that’s ultimately difficult to do when faced with the question of “how are you a good fit for _____________?”

But, I’m hesitant to suggest that every college student read The College Hook because without my own internship, the book would have made me feel like a complete failure. My interest in photography pales in comparison to that of Josh, the first student Proctor helps find his hook. After all, he interned with “a nationally famous portrait photographer, assisting him on shoots and around his studio.” Although, I have to wonder how Josh didn’t know that was his “hook.” The kid did, supposedly, set up a darkroom in his basement.

And I’m a big believer that students should not focus on one aspect of themselves just to “hook” a college. I complain a lot about one-dimensional characters, and to present myself just as the journalist or just as the reader would not show off who I am.

Still, The College Hook is well-organized, well-written book full of useful tips for every applicant to college.

Book Mentioned:

  • Proctor, Pam. The College Hook: Packaging Yourself to Win the College Admissions Game. 2007. Nashville, TN: Center Street, 2007. Print. 239 pgs. ISBN: 1931722811. Source: Borrowed from my mom.
Book Cover © Center Street. Retrieved: December  13, 2008.
Please feel free to share your thoughts

