eclipse

As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob – knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bell has one more decision to make: life or death. But which on?”

Ah, love triangles. Gotta love them, especially when they’re poorly executed. I’m not quite sure what the whole point of the Edward-Bella-Jacob triangle was. We all know who she’s going to end up with, even if you’ve never read the series, and I had to wonder why Jacob even thought he had a chance. Aren’t werewolves supposed to “imprint” on their true love? And I thought Bella couldn’t live without Edward, as evidenced in New Moon?

Moving on…

Eclipse left me with a bad taste in my mouth in regards to all the characters. Jacob was too pushy, not at all like the Jacob I liked in New Moon. No mean no, Jacob. Bella still whined, and her inability to grasp just what she was giving up in order to be with Edward until close to the end of Eclipse annoyed me.

“Think about it, Bella. According to you, you’ve kissed just one person – who isn’t even really a person – in your whole life, and you’re calling it quits? How do you know that’s what you want? Shouldn’t’ you play the field a little?” (pg. 477)

And what’s up with her obsession with the age difference? Even Edward pointed out the Esme is older than Carlisle, a fact that doesn’t bother them. I get that Edward is sickeningly attractive with his cool kisses and chiseled chest, but can we please get some character development? Edward’s either hot or cold, meaning his domineering or distant.

And Eclipse is way too long at 629 pages. Graduation, which one would presume is the book’s peak by the jacket summary, happens in the middle of the book, not the end. And it’s blatantly obvious that Victoria is behind the Seattle killings, and, yet, the confrontation doesn’t occur until the last quarter of the book. The rest is triangles, triangles, and Bella stringing Jacob along, a fact that almost had me feeling sorry for him until the other half of the book. And what I would given to actually see read the fight between the newborns and the Cullens/werewolves.

Still, the best part about the triangles was when Bella had to share a sleeping bag with Jacob. That, and the parts were Bella’s practically begging Edward to have sex with her, had me laughing out loud. And I did enjoy Bella’s little self-realization about how selfish she is:

“I wondered if I was a monster. Not the kind that he thought he was, but the real kind. The kind that hurt people. The kind that had no limits when it came to what they wanted.” (pg. 421)

Will I read Breaking Dawn?  Probably. But now I understand why my friend who let me borrow Eclipse wants to split the costs of Breaking Dawn between us, and why she didn’t immediately purchase it in the first place.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Meyer, Stephenie. Eclipse. New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2007. Print. 629 pgs. ISBN: 0316160202. Source: Borrowed from a friend.
Book Cover © Little, Brown and Company. Retrieved: December 12, 2008.