Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

twilightI tried to resist the hype. I really did, specially after I heard at the movie premier girls were trying to make their throats bleed as though they had been bitten by a vampire. Presumably Edward, himself. But my friend Melissa all but forced me to buy Twilight. Then, yesterday, I saw the movie with my mom while my brother and uncle went to see “Transporter 3.” The movie and, therefore, the story was actually quite good so I decided to give the actual book a shot.

Twilight, the book, was just icing on the cake as far the story goes. I liked how Meyer incorporated some parts of vampire myths while still redeeming {some} vampires as a whole. The Cullen family dynamics where a lot better in the novel than the movie, especially Alice’s role. Edward wasn’t nearly as creepy as he appeared in the movie version.

“He looks at you like…like you’re something to eat.” (pg. 221)

However, one of my biggest complaints is Bella. I liked movie Bella better than book Bella because book Bella got annoying with all her whining and begging him not to leave her. And Bella appeared less infatuated, less you-are-my-world in the movie than she did in the novel. In the beginning, she appears very mature, even as her relationship with Edward begins to form. People are surprised at how young I actually am, same as Bella. But Bella, like I sometimes, begins to act her age. Fine. Okay. But she did appear to fall in love within a week and soon after decided that she would give up an entire lifetime just to be with her first boyfriend.

I’m trying not to be a cynic about her and Edward’s relationship but they’re she’s seventeen. I’m seventeen. I think I have room to judge, especially considering I have seventeen year old friends who fall in and out of love at the drop of a hat. It’s a little too intense to be believable.

“I hate to burst your bubble, but you’re really not as scary as you think you are. I don’t find you scary at all, actually,” I lied casually.” (pg. 345_

It’s fine that Bella has flaws. I like characters that have flaws. But Edward doesn’t, despite being a vampire. Just another reason why their relationship is so unbalanced.

Still the story works and, at times, it can be absolutely mesmerizing. If it wasn’t Thanksgiving, I probably would have been standing outside the bookstore waiting to buy New Moon. However, I think the story works better as a movie than as a novel because Meyer’s writing leaves little to be desired. A little variation in the sentences would be nice. I furiously hope that these teen girls who have been “bitten by Edward Cullen” find a novel with a little better writing structure to obsess over next.

My inner feminist screams at me for liking this book but the story is all too addicting to avoid. I just hope that with New Moon, the writing has a little more variation and Bella acts less like a crazed stalker.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Meyer, Stephenie. Twilight. New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2005. Print. 498 pgs. ISBN: 0316015849. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © Little, Brown and Company. Retrieved: November 27, 2008.
One thought on “Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

  1. I actually found Edward less creepy in the movie. The whole “I’m lying and hiding things from you for your own good” thing in the book drove me completely nuts. In the movie he seems more vulnerable and she less passive.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

