Darcy & Elizabeth by Linda Berdoll

darcy-elizabeth1Darcy & Elizabeth: Nights and Days at Pemberley is the sequel to Linda Berdoll’s Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife and since I so thoroughly enjoyed the first sequel, I thought I’d try my hand at Darcy & Elizabeth.

Darcy & Elizabeth doesn’t have the same flow as the first but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It was just kind of shocking how different the two styles of writing between her first “sequel” and the second was. I found this story easier to follow than Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife; and thought the addition of old and new characters added to the story instead of distracted from it. I think what happened to Lydia, and Elizabeth having to come to her aid, was very true of her character. I especially liked how the story didn’t focus on just Darcy and Elizabeth.

However, in the beginning, this one rehashes so much that happened in the first book, almost like you’re reading SparkNotes, that I feel like nothing happens for the first 100 pages. It takes a while for the novel to get going but once it does, it reads like even better FanFiction than the first.

All in all, I liked Darcy & Elizabeth, but I don’t love it, and I really wanted to love it.

Book Mentioned:

  • Berdoll, Linda. Darcy & Elizabeth: Nights and Days at Pemberley. Naperville, Ill.: Sourcebooks Landmark, 2006. Print. 448 pgs. ISBN: 9781402205637. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © Sourebooks Landmark. Retrieved: June 24, 2008.

Please feel free to share your thoughts

