Letters from Pemberley by Jane Dawkins

In this continuation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, one of the best-loved novels in the English language, Elizabeth Bennet, now Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy and mistress of Pemberley, finds herself in a very different league of wealth and privilege. Writing to her sister, Jane, she confides her uncertainty and anxieties, and describes the everyday of her new life. Her first year at Pemberley is sometimes bewildering, but Lizzy’s spirited sense of humour and satirical eye never desert her.

I’m a big fan of Pride and Prejudice, and in my quest to find a sequel, I’ve come across some good and some bad. My mom got me Letters from Pemberley by Dawkins via PaperBackSwap.

I couldn’t help but wish Letters from Pemberley allowed me to be privy to Jane Bingley’s, nee Bennet, letters to Elizabeth rather than just Elizabeth to Jane. Throughout the novel, Elizabeth responses to her sister’s letters but often times, I had wished that I could see exactly what Elizabeth was responding to. The letters, I have to say, are well written and true to the novel. But somethings missing. Overall, they lack the excitement of Austen’s original. Definitely, they are not as exciting as some other sequels out there.
I would have to say that this is your “safe sequel.” If you’re looking for one where the Darcys, uh, other excursions are not splashed about the pages, than this is the one for you.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. Ann Arbor, MI: Borders Classics, 2006. Originally published 1813. Print. 314 pgs. ISBN: 9781587265150 Source: Purchased.
  • Dawkins, Jane. Letters from Pemberley: The First Year. Naperville, Ill.: Sourcebooks, 2007. Print.. 224 pgs. ISBN: 9781402209062. Source: PaperBackSwap.

Book Cover © Sourcebooks. Retrieved: April 21, 2008.

One thought on “Letters from Pemberley by Jane Dawkins

  1. That seems exceedinly interesting. P&P is my favourite book in all the world — and so I wonder how and how well Dawkins has continued the story.This goes right to my BookMooch wishlist!

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

