Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

remember-meWhen twenty-eight-year-old Lexi Smart wakes up in a London hospital, she’s in for a big surprise. Her teeth are perfect. Her body is toned. Her handbag is Vuitton. Having survived a car accident-in a Mercedes no less-Lexi has lost a big chunk of her memory, three years to be exact, and she’s about to find out just how much things have changed.

Somehow Lexi went from a twenty-five-year-old working girl to a corporate big shot with a sleek new loft, a personal assistant, a carb-free diet, and a set of glamorous new friends. An who is this gorgeous husband-who also happens to be a multimillionaire? With her mind stick three years in reverse, Lexi greets this brace new world determined to be the person she…well, seems to be. That is, until an adorably disheveled architect drops the biggest bombshell of all.

I’ve been reading Kinsella’s novel since her first novel hit the market in 2001. Needless to say, I was thrilled when I heard that she had written another stand alone book and even more thrilled received it as a gift for my birthday.

The book follows Kinsella’s typical theme, confused girl who is/gets married to a hunky millionaire. And, as always, the main character is endearing and funny. However, compared to Kinsella’s other stand alone novels, this one is at the back of the pack. Don’t get me wrong, the story is well written. But the normal chemistry between her main character and a millionaire hunk wasn’t there. And I spent most of the book angry at Lexi, until the end.
a

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Kinsella, Sophie. Remember Me?. New York: Dial Press, 2008. 400 pgs. ISBN:  0385338724. Source: Gift.
Book Cover © Dial Press. Retrieved: May 13, 2011.
3 thoughts on “Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

  1. I’ve been reading Kinsella for a long time as well. I’ve since grown so tired of the Becky Bloomwood series that I’ve given up on them entirely. So I really look forward to her stand alone’s. I was disappointed in Remember Me? and like you have placed in the back when compared to her other stand alone novels. Have you read any of the books that she has published under her real name, Madeline Wickham? I haven’t but they are on my wishlist.

    Like

  2. Irish: I still like Becky but I hated Shopaholic & Sister and still though Sophaholic & Baby wasn’t as good as the first 3. I didn’t even know that Sophie Kinsella wasn’t her real name. I will for sure check out her other books. Thanks for the heads up.

    Like

  3. I’ve always wanted to pick up one of her books but never seem to get around to it. Bridget Jones is one of my favorite “heroines”, and I’ve heard Kinsella’s lead characters compared to BJ. Maybe one day. 🙂

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

