The Choice by Nicholas Sparks

the-choiceTravis Parker has everything a man could want: a good job, loyal friends, even a waterfront home in small-town North Carolina. In full pursuit of the good life-boating, swimming, and regular barbecues with his close buddies-he holds the vague conviction that a serious relationship with a woman would only camp his style. That is until Gabby Holland moves in next door.

Despite his attempts to be neighborly, the attractive redhead seems to have a grudge against him…and the presence of her longtime boyfriend doesn’t help. Still, Travis can’t stop trying to integrate himself with his new neighbor, and his persistent efforts lead them both to the doorstep of a journey that neither could have foreseen.

White perusing Barnes & Noble for birthday book ideas I saw this novel. I’ve read a couple of Sparks’ books and really enjoyed them, so I thought I’d give this one a shot. I keeping with my mom’s you-can-get-it-from-the-library mentality, I looked it up and checked it out.

The Choice reminded me a bit too much of The Notebook, also by Nicholas Sparks. To the point where I felt that Gabby telling Travis that it isn’t as simple as just telling Kevin that she is in love with Travis was the same conversation Allie had with Noah about Lon.

My friend Hannah would have you believe that there are only 6 books in the world. The rest are just retellings of the same six stories. The farther and farther I got into this book, the more I started to believe her.

Until, that is, it is unveiled that Gabby and Travis were in a car accident. After walking away with a broken arm, Travis awakes to find out that his wife is brain damaged and probably never wake up. The story unfolds that after 12 weeks of her lying the hospital, Travis now has to make the decision to let her go or move her to a nursing home for permanent care. And top of that, Gabby has asked to be let go.

I liked the last 100 pages of the book but the first 300 just sounds like a rehashing of The Notebook in today’s times.

Book Mentioned:

  • Sparks, Nicholas. The Choice. New York: Warner Books, 2007. Print. 288 pgs. ISBN: 0446579920. Source: Library.
  • Sparks, Nicholas. The Notebook. New York: Bantam Books, 2004. Originally published 1996. Print. 213 pgs. ISBN: 0552212814. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © Warner Books. Retrieved: April 4, 2008.
One thought on “The Choice by Nicholas Sparks

  1. Hi Christina. I just wanted to tell you that you won my giveaway: 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover. Please send me an email with an address to send it to. Congrats!

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

