Booking Through Thursday: Lit-Ra-Chur

“When somebody mentions “literature,” what’s the first thing you think of? (Dickens? Tolstoy? Shakespeare?) Do you read “literature” (however you define it) for pleasure? Or is it something that you read only when you must?”

Literature makes me think of the horrible books we read in English class. Sometimes it makes me think of the “classics” but for the most part, the only thing that comes to mind are school books. I’ve read some classics for pleasure (Pride & Prejudice, Little Women, The Scarlet Letter) but usually it’s a must kind of situation.
7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Lit-Ra-Chur

  1. When you said .. “Literature makes me think of the horrible books we read in English class” … it made me smile because I totally agree with you!!!! I really need to read “Little Women” again. Great BTT answers!Tara

    Like

  2. I loved most of the stuff I read for class… in the end at least. I think a lot of the pleasure came from class discussions which were helpful in understanding some of the things that they author was saying. In my head literature and math class were the same – I loved them when I understood them! 😉

    Like

  3. I agree with ravenous reader. There is no need for horrible books in class. Literature well taught is liberating not horrible.

    Like

  4. Oh, I am so sorry you have this impression of lit…mine is so different. I don’t consider literature to be just the classics, or western novels….check out my answer and let me know what you think. I loved this weeks BTT question, it really was a good one to me.

    Like

  5. “Literature makes me think of the horrible books we read in English class”What is strange is that I have found that some of the same books I thought were absolutely terrible in school, when I was made to read them, are actually quite good, when I chose to try them later in life. The same book can seem entirely different when you have picked it up yourself. At least in my experience.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

