Booking Through Thursday: Cover-Up

“While acknowledging that we can’t judge books by their covers, how much does the design of a book affect your reading enjoyment? Hardcover vs. softcover? Trade paperback vs. mass market paperback? Font? Illustrations? Etc.?”

a
The cover of a book certainly does draw my attention, especially in the library and I do make a point to post the cover along with my reivew here, for those who do judge a book by the cover. However, for the most part, I try to read the summary of the book before I check it out. A book may have a flashy cover but be a rotten apple in ide. I wouldn’t say that it affects my reading enjoyment. Some of my favorite books have had the worst covers.
a
I prefer softcover just because it’s easier to carry around at school and such. Most of the books at my public library are hardback and they are a pain to lug on the airplane and such.
2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Cover-Up

  1. I like to post images of the covers with reviews on my blog, just because I like looking at them. I never thought of doing so for readers’ instant judgement! Perhaps one day I’ll get tired of the extra work involved and cease posting pictures…

    Like

  2. I find myself on the opposite end of the spectrum–I never post book covers with my reviews. It might be egocentric of me, but I want people to pay attention to my words, not a picture which could be completely unrepresentative. I almost always read summaries online before I go out and get a book–either that or just pick a book randomly on the library shelf since I dislike most covers anyway.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

