The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

timetravelerswife_page_1

Clare, a beautiful art student, and Henry, an adventuresome librarian, have know each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, and were married when Clare was twenty-three and Henry thirty-one. Impossible but true, because Henry is one of the first people diagnosed with Chrono-Displacement Disorder: periodically his genetic clock resets and he fins himself misplaced in time, pulled to moments of emotional gravity from his life past and future. His disappearances are spontaneous, his experiences unpredictable, alternately harrowing and amusing.

The Time Traveler’s Wife is brilliant. Highly original. Moving. What more can I say that hasn’t already been said. Yet, I can’t call this a favorite because I didn’t get sucked into the story. Yes, it was a great story but I was able to set the book down and go to bed. I didn’t have to stay up all night to find out the ending. I also felt that the details were a little sketchy. Like Niffenegger could have gone into more detail about Henry’s time traveling.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Niffenegger, Audrey. The Time Traveler’s Wife. Topeka, KS: Sagebrush, 2004. Originally published 2003. Print. 546 pgs. ISBN: 9781417642144. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Sagebrush. Retrieved: March 21, 2008.
3 thoughts on “The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

  1. Hey, thanks for linking to my review on this one! I felt like there were some gaps in the story too. I wished the author had gone more into his treatment, and his wife’s reaction to knowing about the disease, and the whole issue of their daughter having it too…

    Like

  2. This is definitely a favorite for me, though I totally respect different opinions. I think that the fact that Henry was born in the time and place I was born enhanced it for me. So exciting to see him visiting places and doing things I did! I had no idea there was a movie, as one of your commenters mentioned. SO EXCITED!

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

