Atonement by Ian McEwan

atonementOn a summer day in 1935, thirteen-year-old Briony Tallis witnesses the flirtation between her older sister, Cecilia, and Robbie Turner, the son of a servant. But Briony’s incomplete grasp of adult motives and her precocious imagination bring about a crime that will change all their lives, a crime whose repercussions Atonement follows through the chaos and carnage of World War II and into the close of the twentieth century.

After watching the movie version I was honestly a bit disenfranchised with the whole premise. I thought by reading the novel version I would come to love the movie my friends fell in love with.

I have to say that the movie did a fantastic job of following the book. I only gained a few minor details here and there. The really only drastically different part was the ending and to tell you the truth, I liked the movie’s ending better. If you haven’t seen the movie, read the book. If you have seen the movie, don’t bother.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • McEwan, Ian. Atonement. New York: Anchor, 2007. Print. 251 pgs. ISBN: 038572179X. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Anchor. Retrieved: March 19, 2008.
4 thoughts on “Atonement by Ian McEwan

  1. When I first read it I confess I was a obsessed with it for a while and it easily made my top-10 list. I’m always surprised it doesn’t have the same impact on other people 🙂

    Like

  2. One of my favorite books, and movies. I loved the movie and read the book after — twice. Definitely worth it, I think, even if you have seen the movie. Most people don’t agree with me, though. 🙂

    Like

    1. I feel like I would actually like it if I read it now. The movie didn’t leave me completely satisfied and the book was so different that I think I looked to it to be something it’s not.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

