Sunday Salon: Vacation Selections

Last Thursday, while at the library for math tutoring, I picked up Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult and The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. While some may claim that they are the last person to read The Time Traveler’s Wife, the honor is actually all mine. Perfect Match will also be the third Picoult book I have read this year and I get this feeling that she’s my “comfort author.” I read one book and then a Picoult book. I read another book and then a Picoult book. Right now, I am 57 pages into Perfect Match.

I also plucked American Dreamsby John Jakes off my parent’s bookcase. A couple of years ago I tried to read North and Southbut couldn’t get into it. Probably because I was about 7 or 8 at the time and every other action in North and South is sex.

Since we’re leaving on spring break for Philadelphia and Boston, I have to select a few books to take on my trip. Perfect Match is coming, if I don’t finish it this afternoon. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut is coming because I need to finish it for school. But all the other books I have on my currently reading shelf are big books and mostly hardcover.

I think I toss Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah in my suitcase and bring The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini in my backpack. And seeing is how we are specifically heading to Boston to go look at Clark University and Hampshire College for me, Colleges That Change Lives by Loren Pope is going to be in my backpack as well, since it is how I found Clark and Hampshire.

A friend recommended After Dachau by Daniel Quinn to me on Friday and I’m going to try to get over to library to pick that book up before leaving on my trip. It sounded pretty interesting, and she really loves it right now.

Long story short, I’m going to be gone Monday to Friday, so there will be no posts till I get back. But don’t worry, the drive between Boston and Philly is 5 hours and the flight from Dallas to Boston is 4 hours so I’m bound to get some reading done this week.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on each other’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

8 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Vacation Selections

  1. Have a good trip. College does change people’s lives so I hope you find something in one of these institutions that feels right for you. Choose carefully.

    Like

  2. That’s a lot of reading material! Enjoy all that quiet time. I’m in a house full of screaming kids at the moment (my girls had a sleepover last night) so hours reading in a car or a plane sounds quite heavenly. Enjoy your trip.

    Like

  3. I love Jodi Piccoult and can’t wait for her latest to be released on paperback. i really enjoyed the Time Traveller’s Wife too – once I got my head around it!

    Like

  4. What do you think about Slaughter House Five? It was the third Vonnegut book I read and the first one I enjoyed. I was happy I decided to read it even though I didn’t enjoy any of his previous books. Not liking Vonnegut is practically a crime, I know, but I cannot tell a lie. I would actually like to rad Slaughter House Five again because there was a lot of things I liked about the time structure that I would like to learn from as a writer.

    Like

  5. Table Talk: I hope so to. Hampshire is a “maybe” college but everything I’ve read about Clark makes me want to go there. I’m really excited because I get to sit in on a class all about urban development in 3rd world countries.Lisamm: Lots of reading material = no fighting with my younger brother. My mom’s been hounding me all weekend to go to the library and check out some more books.Mrs. S: I’m currently on the waiting list for Picoult’s new book at my public library but at #47, the paperback might come out before I get my hands on it.Megan: This is the first time I have ever read Slaughterhouse Five and I’m having a hard time getting in to it. Hopefully, it will get better.

    Like

  6. You are not the last to read Time Traveler’s Wife…I haven’t yet…but I did just buy it at goodwill this last week! (I’m making progress!!!)

    Like

  7. Hope you are having a good trip. I’m located in New Jersey, so know that the weather today is not too good. Cold and rainy is not fun. I can’t wait to hear how you liked The Time Traveler’s Wife (and The Kite Runner). Those two books were favorites of mine.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

