Pledged by Alexandra Robbins

My mom, in an attempt to turn me against sororities, picked up this book at our local public library. At first, I was hesitant about picking up the book because I didn’t like the fact that my mom is trying to make decisions for me. I chalked it up to the fact that she just wants me to be well-informed and picked up the book this morning for after standardized test reading.

Robbins introduces us to Vicki, Caitlin, Amy, and Sabrina and immediately I began to identify with a certain trait or aspect of each of these girls. Robbins became curious about whether the stereotypes of sororities were actually true, so she spent a year undercover with a group of girls in a typical sorority. The sororities’ sordid behavior exceeded her worst expectations-drugs, psychological abuse, extreme promiscuity, racism, violence, and rampant eating disorders were just a few of the problems. But even more surprising was the fact that these abuses were inflicted and endured by intelligent, successful, and attractive young women.

I experienced their highs and lows and I found myself wondering why in the world being in a sorority is such a prestigious thing and why we still allow hazing and Greek life deaths to still occur. I do understand that there are some good things that come from being in a sorority. Many girls found jobs with assistance of their alumni sisters.

This is book is very eye opening and I would recommend it to anyone who is embarking on college shopping. Now I understand why my mom is anti-Greek and why at every college she asks about how dominant Greek life is. I haven’t made up my mind on Greek life yet. But I do plan to look at it on a college by college basis.

Book Mentioned:

  • Robbins, Alexandra. Pledged: The Secret Life of Sororities. New York: Hyperion, 2005. Originally published 2004. Print. 384 pgs. ISBN: 0641877765. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Hyperion. Retrieved: March 7, 2008.
One thought on “Pledged by Alexandra Robbins

  1. I does definitely depend on where you go to school! I don’t know if you noticed that I’m from Dallas when you came by my blog. I did my undergrad at A&M where greek life is very very small and my masters at Tech where a lot of people do greek. I didn’t do it at either school–not really for me!

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

