Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride by Helen Halstead

mrdarcypresentshisbride

Fiction — print. Ulysses, 2007. 320 pgs. Purchased.

Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride continues the story of life of these newlyweds as they enter London’s glamorous high society. Although Elizabeth makes a powerful friend in the Marchioness of Englebury, the rivalry and jealousy among her ladyship’s prestigious clique threatens to destroy the success of her new marriage.

I chose this particular sequel to Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice because of the 3.5 stars rating on Amazon. While it did receive a review for one star and four votes for two stars, I figure that the eleven reviews for five stars would be a better inclination of the type of book it would be. Boy, was I wrong.

Halstead felt the need to remind the reader of what happened in the “prequel” to her sequel, something I found annoying and unnecessary. I would assume that if you are reading Jane Austen FanFiction, you would already know who the characters are and how they came to know/love one another. The fact that Charlotte did not “approve” of Elizabeth’s marriage to Darcy coupled with her and Elizabeth’s friendship dropping to the wayside quickly left me disenfranchised with the novel and struggling to complete it. And the other plot lines failed to captivate me and I rapidly lost interest even before the Charlotte/Elizabeth debacle. I wish I could return this book to the bookstore because I never plan on reading it again. Except that would probably be a little too tacky.

Others’ Thoughts:

 

Please feel free to share your thoughts

