Sunday Salon: Summer’s End

With classes starting tomorrow I must finally admit that summer is over. I’ve spent the last two weeks on campus trying to remain in denial about this fact, but a combination of on-campus job training and a rapidly filling inbox makes it obvious that summer vacation slipped through my fingers. My lovely time living in Seattle and my few weeks at home probably constituted my best summer on a personal, professional, and bookish level. I won’t go into all the nitty gritty details about the first two but books are always fair game here.

I mentioned back in June about how small my physical TBR pile had become thanks to limited entertainment options over summer break. My progress on reading through my collection continued to be substantial, as evidenced by the picture above. Everything from the right of my box set collection of the Little House series on the first shelf are books I’ve read before but never reviewed here. The books included on the bottom shelf are those that I have never read. This is an impressive change from the way things were back in January. This doesn’t even begin to describe my digital TBR list, which I culled for 25+ books down to four. Of course, I had hoped to make more progress before returning to school. However, the Honors Project took priority the last week I was home and I found myself reading several library books instead of my own.

Not very many of the books pictured above made the move from home to university with me. I finished two of the books I brought with me on the plan and started the third — Heidi by Johanna Spyri — last night. I have four books with me at school that are on my TBR list and while I am hoping to get to them, I’m not holding my breath. The school year is busy and my reading time is limited. It’s one of major downsides to the end of summer. I’m not too sad about it, though. I love university! It just means that while I transition from the slow days of summer to the busy days of autumn things are going to slow down here.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Summer’s End

  1. So glad to hear you had a lovely summer. Our students returned last week and life got crazy here too. Reading is always slower for me during Fall so I’ll be looking forward to the holiday break :)

  2. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your summer. Your digital TBR pile went down while mine’s week up! Reading is usually slower for me in the fall too. I hope you have a great first week.

Leave a Reply

